One day enforcement blitz April 11th
Dover- Delaware Office of Highway Safety (OHS) and Delaware law enforcement agencies are once again asking motorists to show how much they care about their loved ones by putting the phone down while driving. Law enforcement will be ticketing those who don’t follow the law during a statewide one-day enforcement blitz on April 11th as part of the U Drive. U Text. U Pay. campaign running nationwide from April 10-15.
Distracted driving consists of any non-driving activity that has the potential to distract the driver from the primary task: driving. In 2013, Delaware saw 149 cell phone related crashes and law enforcement issued over 19,500 cell phone citations.
Delaware’s cell phone law bans texting while driving. Drivers are also required to utilize hands-free technology in order to use a cell phone to talk while driving. It also bans the use of pagers, blackberry’s, PDA’s, laptops, games, or the use of any other electronic device while driving. If you have to make a call, pull over to a safe place to use your cell phone or use a hands free device such as a blue tooth.
Delaware’s cell phone law is a primary offense. If a police officer observes you using a handheld device while driving they can stop you for the violation and cite you $50 for your first offense ($106 total with fees). If you get caught again penalties can increase to $300. Violations do not incur points on your driver’s license. Since 2011, when the law went into effect, there have been over 35,000 cell phone citations issued statewide.
Get the facts:
For more information on distracted driving, please visit www.distraction.gov/delaware or ohs.delaware.gov/cellphone.Related Topics: cell phone • cell phone enforcement • distracted driving • texting • texting and driving • traffic enforcement • traffic safety
Built by the Government Information Center