Free online tax filing available through state website
Statewide, DE – Division of Revenue Director Patrick T. Carter reminds taxpayers today that State of Delaware Personal Income Tax is due April 30, 2014. Citizens can file their Delaware Income Taxes online for free at www.delaware.gov.
On average, Delaware’s online filing system allows taxpayers requesting a refund to receive their refund two weeks earlier than those filing paper returns. Currently, the average time to issue a refund for online tax filing is under 9 days, compared to paper tax filing which is over 21 days.
Online filing also allows taxpayers to file their taxes electronically and then schedule any payment due closer to the April 30th deadline. Online filing is available 24/7. Taxpayers may pay their State of Delaware taxes using a credit card or by debiting their bank account.
Because Delaware does not maintain reciprocity agreements with other states, it is important for anyone who is not a Delaware resident – but worked in Delaware in 2013 – to understand that they must file a Delaware tax return. Likewise, Delaware Residents who work out-of-state are required to file returns with Delaware, in addition to the state where they worked.
If a taxpayer owes Delaware and doesn’t have the funds to make payment on April 30th, it is still important to file the return and make future payment arrangements because there is a 5% monthly penalty if the return is not filed on time. Likewise, if a taxpayer doesn’t have all of their return completed they can file an extension using the Delaware extension form, DE1027, which will give them until October 15, 2014 to file the original tax return without the 5% non-filing penalty.
By law, Delaware employees should have received their W-2 employment forms by January 31st for any job worked during the 2013 calendar year. Those who haven’t received a W-2 should contact their employer immediately.
# # #Related Topics: Delaware • finance • revenue • taxes
Built by the Government Information Center