NEWS.DELAWARE.GOV


  Article

Delaware Personal Income Tax Returns Due May 1, 2017

Date Posted: Wednesday, April 12th, 2017
Categories:  Department of Finance Department of Labor

Division of Revenue Director David Gregor has announced that Delaware tax season filing deadline this year is Monday, May 1, 2017. Citizens are encouraged to file their 2016 State of Delaware Personal Income Taxes or file an extension to Monday, October 16, 2017 by using our online services at www.delaware.gov.

Delaware urges taxpayers take advantage of online filing, with refunds from electronically filed returns being issued on average in less than nine days. Refunds from paper-filed returns average more than 14 days.

The following electronic filing options are available:

  • Those who don’t need tax preparation software can file for free on the Delaware Division of Revenue website. This online system is extremely user-friendly and available 24/7. The system also allows taxpayers to file their returns and then schedule any payment due closer to the May 1st deadline. Taxpayers may pay their State of Delaware taxes on this system using a credit card or by debiting their bank account.
  • Those who prefer tax-preparation software can electronically file their federal and state income tax returns for a fee, though these products also offer free-filing options for Delaware taxpayers who meet the following qualifications:
    • Adjusted gross income less than the software’s established means criteria; or
    • Active-duty military with an adjusted gross income of $60,000 or less (including Reservists and National Guard); or
    • Qualify for the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

For paper-filed returns, the State uses a modernized processing system that identifies tax filings based on the type of return, i.e. refund or balance due. Any taxpayer who files a 2016 tax return using a previous-year return, or who modifies the paper return in some way will experience significant delays. Paper tax returns are available for download at www.revenue.delaware.gov.

Because Delaware does not maintain reciprocal agreements with other states, it is important for anyone who is not a Delaware resident – but who has worked in Delaware – to understand that they must file a Delaware tax return. Delaware residents who work out-of-state are required to file returns with Delaware in addition to the state where they worked.

By law, Delaware employees should receive their W-2 employment forms by January 31, 2017 for any job worked during the 2016 calendar year. Those who haven’t received a W-2 by January 31 should contact their employer.

Related Topics:

Categories

Archives

State Agency Newsrooms
External Links

Flag Status


Navigation



Adjust Your Font Size


Make Text Size Smaler Reset Text Size Make Text Size Bigger





State of Delaware Facebook Page State of Delaware Facebook Page
State of Delaware Twitter Page State of Delaware Twitter Page
State of Delaware Flickr Photos State of Delaware Flickr Photos
State of Delaware Youtube Page State of Delaware Youtube Page
State of Delaware RSS Feed State of Delaware RSS Feed