DNREC’s Division of Watershed Stewardship, the office of Environmental Finance, and the Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) Division of Public Health are now accepting proposals from state, county and municipal governments and governmental subdivisions for matching grants for wastewater, surface water and drinking water project planning. Proposals must be received by 4:30 p.m. Nov. 16, 2016.
When someone is seriously injured, seconds or moments can make the difference between life and death. To increase the chance of survival and reduce the chance of permanent disability, Delaware created an integrated, statewide trauma system 20 years ago that begins with a 9-1-1 call and does not end until after the patient receives high quality hospital care. The Delaware Trauma System members include 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Centers, Emergency Medical Service (EMS) providers of Basic and Advanced Life Support, fire and police agencies, air medical transport, hospital emergency trauma teams, operating rooms, and intensive care units. The system includes the helicopters you might see in the sky, the ambulance you might see on the road, and the emergency room medical personnel and surgeons that could save someone close to you. To celebrate the men and women of the trauma system, dozens of medical professionals, and first responders filled the House of Representatives chambers at Legislative Hall on Tuesday, joined by state and local officials to mark the 20th anniversary of the Delaware Trauma System.
A national study, funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), found that restaurants with Certified Food Protection Managers (CFPMs) had fewer of most types of food safety violations. Such food managers receive special training and are responsible for monitoring and managing all food establishment operations. The CFPM must also be knowledgeable about foodborne illness symptoms, how to minimize risk factors, and how make corrective actions if necessary.
It’s now easier than ever for dog owners in Delaware to license their furry family members, as required by state law. The Division of Public Health Office of Animal Welfare (OAW) has just added three retail locations to the list of places where residents can purchase dog licenses. Dog licenses are required for all dogs, six months and older. Those who fail to license their dogs face fines of $50 or more.
Today, the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) updated its guidelines for sexual transmission of the Zika virus following the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) announcement of the first reported case of female to male sexual transmission in New York. DPH is also announcing two new travel-related cases in Delaware. A Sussex County woman, and a New Castle County man tested positive for the Zika virus, bringing the total number of cases in Delaware to 10. All of the Zika positive test results are due to a mosquito bite while traveling abroad and none involve a pregnancy. Both individuals were tested within the last few weeks.
Built by the Government Information Center