
Delaware Personal Income Tax
season begins January 23rd
Statewide, DE – Division of Revenue Director Patrick T. Carter
announced  today  that  the  Delaware  tax  season  will  begin
Friday, January 23, 2015. Citizens are encouraged to file
their 2014 State of Delaware Personal Income Taxes online at
www.delaware.gov. This year’s filing deadline is April 30,
2015.

As always, Delaware urges taxpayers to electronically file (e-
file) their returns. E-filing offers many advantages. Refunds
from e-filed returns are issued on average between 1-2 weeks,
while refunds from paper-filed returns average 3-4 weeks. Last
year, the average time to issue a refund for all tax filing
methods combined was just over 10 days.

Delaware offers the following e-file options:

Those who don’t need tax preparation software can e-1.
file  for  free  on  the  Delaware  Division  of  Revenue
website. This online system is extremely user-friendly
and available 24/7. The system also allows taxpayers to
file their returns and then schedule any payment due
closer to the April 30th deadline. Taxpayers may pay
their State of Delaware taxes on this system using a
credit card or by debiting their bank account.
Those who prefer tax-preparation software can e-file2.
their federal and state income tax returns for a fee,
though these products also offer free-filing options
for  Delaware  taxpayers  who  meet  the  following
qualifications:

Adjusted gross income less than the software’s
established means criteria; or
Active-duty  military  with  an  adjusted  gross
income of $60,000 or less (including Reservists
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and National Guard); or
Qualify for the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

For paper-filed returns, Revenue uses a modernized processing
system  that  identifies  tax  filings  based  on  the  return.
Therefore, any taxpayer who files a 2014 tax return using a
previous-year return or who modifies the paper return in some
way will experience significant delays. Paper tax returns are
available for download at www.revenue.delaware.gov.

Because Delaware does not maintain reciprocity agreements with
other states, it is important for anyone who is not a Delaware
resident – but who has worked in Delaware – to understand that
they  must  file  a  Delaware  tax  return.  Likewise,  Delaware
Residents who work out-of-state are required to file returns
with Delaware, in addition to the state where they worked.

By law, Delaware employees should receive their W-2 employment
forms by January 31, 2015, for any job worked during the 2014
calendar year. Those who haven’t received a W-2 by January
31st should contact their employer immediately.
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