Four Delaware Leaders to be Honored at 36th Annual Hall of Fame of Delaware Women Ceremony

WILMINGTON – The Delaware Commission for Women will add four outstanding female leaders to the Hall of Fame of Delaware Women at its annual induction ceremony on March 22.

They are retired Delaware Supreme Court Justice Carolyn Berger; State Representative Debra Heffernan; Dr. Janice Nevin, president and CEO of Christiana Care Health System; and the late Kendall M. Wilson, the first executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Delaware.

“These women exemplify a spirit of leadership and service that serves as a model for their fellow Delawareans and women throughout the state,” said Romona Fullman, executive director of the Delaware Commission for Women. “By adding their names to the Hall of Fame of Delaware Women, we continue to demonstrate the impact and influence of women leaders in the First State.”

Chosen from a list of nominees submitted by individuals and organizations from across the state, the inductees were selected based on their remarkable careers and the significance of their work. To date, 142 women have been inducted to this prestigious group.

The public is invited to join Gov. John Carney and the Commission for Women at a reception and award ceremony to celebrate their achievements and commemorate Women’s History Month in Delaware. This event will be held on Wednesday, March 22 at the Christiana Hilton in Newark.

The celebration will begin with heavy hors d’oeuvres and a cash bar at 5:30 p.m. Presentation of awards will follow at 6:30 with remarks from the inductees. Previously inducted Hall of Fame members also will be in attendance. The cost is $50 per person.

For more information or to register, visit or call (302) 577-5287.

Click here for bios of each inductee.