A Joint Statement on Charlottesville By Elected Leaders of Delaware

We join together to denounce the intimidation and violence perpetrated by white supremacists and Nazis in Charlottesville, Virginia last weekend, and to make clear that such conduct will not be tolerated here in Delaware. 

We come from different backgrounds, different parties, and different parts of the state.  Some of our colleagues have relatives who served and died fighting the Nazis in World War II.  Some of our colleagues have ancestors who were imprisoned and killed in Nazi-run concentration camps.  Some of our colleagues have ancestors who were enslaved and oppressed when white supremacy was permitted by law here in the United States.  

All of us, together, reject the white supremacist and Nazi views espoused last weekend in Charlottesville, and condemn the behavior and violence that accompanied it.  It will not be tolerated here in Delaware.  We are a state that rejects hate, discrimination, and violence. 

Governor John Carney            Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long

                                                          Attorney General Matthew Denn            State Auditor Thomas Wagner

State Treasurer Kenneth Simpler            Insurance Commissioner Trinidad Navarro


President Pro Tempore David McBride, Majority Leader Margaret Rose Henry, Majority Whip Nicole Poore,

Minority Leader Gary Simpson & Minority Whip Gregory Lavelle

of the Delaware State Senate


Speaker of the House Peter Schwartzkopf, Majority Leader Valerie Longhurst, Majority Whip John Viola,

Minority Leader Daniel Short & Minority Whip Deborah Hudson

of the Delaware State House of Representatives