Delaware Division of the Arts Announces 2018 Individual Artist Fellowship Awardees

Delaware Division of the Arts - Mezzanine Gallery exhibition by 2017 Individual Artist Fellow, Beth Trepper.


Seventeen Delaware artists are being recognized by the Division for the high quality of their artwork. Work samples from 124 Delaware choreographers, composers, musicians, writers, folk and visual artists were reviewed by out-of-state arts professionals, considering demonstrated creativity and skill in their art form. The 17 selected fellows reside throughout Delaware including Lewes, Newark, Rehoboth Beach, and Wilmington.

Awards are given in three categories – $10,000 for the Masters Award, $6,000 for the Established Professional Award, and $3,000 for the Emerging Professional Award – and Fellows are required to offer at least one exhibit or performance during the upcoming year, providing an opportunity for the public to experience their work. The work of the Fellows will be featured in a group exhibition, Award Winners XVIII, at the Biggs Museum this summer.

“Individual Artist Fellowship grants provide the recognition and exposure that artists need to successfully promote their work,” said Paul Weagraff, director of Delaware Division of the Arts.  “The financial award allows them to pursue advanced training, purchase equipment and materials, or fulfill other needs to advance their careers.”

The Masters Fellowship is open to differing artistic disciplines each year. In Fiscal Year 2018, Masters Fellowship applications were accepted in Dance, Jazz or Music from artists who had previously received an Established Professional Fellowship. In addition to exemplifying high artistic quality, Masters Fellowship applicants must demonstrate their involvement and commitment to the arts in Delaware. Listed below are the Delaware Division of the Arts 2018 Individual Artist Fellows and four Honorable Mentions.

Musician and educator Lloyd Shorter has been awarded this year’s Masters Fellowship in Music: Solo Recital. Shorter plays English horn, oboe, and oboe d’amore. This season marks Shorter’s 45th season with the Delaware Symphony Orchestra. He is also a performer and Co-Artistic Director of the Relâche Ensemble, an eight-member contemporary music ensemble based in Philadelphia. With Relâche he has recorded or performed new works, toured nationally and internationally, and collaborated with numerous composers including Philip Glass. At the University of Delaware, Shorter spent 34 years as Assistant Professor of Oboe, and was the Director for the Governor’s School Music Program and a member of the Del Arte Woodwind Quintet. He continues to teach privately and explore new music with a special interest in technology.

2018 Individual Artist Fellows

Masters Award ($10,000)

Name Community Artistic Discipline
 Lloyd Shorter Wilmington Music: Solo Recital

Established Professional Award ($6,000)

Name Community Artistic Discipline
 Dennis Beach Wilmington Visual Arts: Sculpture
Jack Clemons Lewes Literature: Fiction
Thomas Del Porte Wilmington Visual Arts: Painting
Ellen Durkan Wilmington Visual Arts: Sculpture
Maribeth Fischer Lewes Literature: Creative Nonfiction
David P. Kozinski Wilmington Literature: Poetry
Lawrence Stomberg Wilmington Music: Solo Recital
Joan Warburton-Phibbs Wilmington Dance: Choreography

Emerging Artist Award ($3,000)

Name Community Artistic Discipline
Leah Beach Rehoboth Beach Visual Arts: Photography
Kevin Bielicki  Newark Visual Arts: Sculpture
Joyce Chen Wilmington Music: Solo Recital
Jen Epler Wilmington Literature: Fiction
Gemelle John Wilmington Literature: Poetry
Lauren E. Peters Wilmington Visual Arts: Painting
Robert Waters  Lewes Media Arts: Video/Film
Shannon Connor Winward  Newark Literature: Fiction

Honorable Mention

Name Community Artistic Discipline
Teresa Clifton Milford Literature: Fiction
Charles Guerin Dover Visual Arts: Works on Paper
Isai Jess Muñoz Hockessin Music: Solo Recital
Terence Roberts Wilmington Visual Arts: Photography


To contact an individual artist, please email or call: Roxanne Stanulis, Program Officer, Artist Programs and Services, or 302-577-8283.

The next deadline for Individual Artist Fellowship applications will be Tuesday, August 1, 2018 by 4:30 p.m.


Contact: Leeann Wallett, Program Officer, Communications and Marketing