State awards more than $145,000 in merit scholarships

The Delaware Department of Education has announced the recipients of four state merit scholarship programs for the 2018-19 academic year. Merit scholarships are competitive and awarded based on a student’s academic performance, participation in school activities and service to the community. Students may apply for Delaware merit scholarships in their senior year of high school. All four awards are renewable. Three of the programs are memorial scholarships that honor state legislators and provide full tuition, fees, room, board, and books at the public colleges in Delaware. Those scholarships are:


  • The B. Bradford Barnes Memorial Scholarship, in honor of the former Speaker of the State House of Representatives, is awarded to one student each year enrolling full-time at the University of Delaware. Dana Wilkins, a graduate of Newark Charter School, is the recipient of the B. Bradford Barnes Memorial Scholarship. Wilkins will major in biomedical engineering.


  • The Herman M. Holloway, Sr. Memorial Scholarship, in honor of the first African-American State Senator in Delaware, is awarded to one student each year enrolling full-time at Delaware State University. Carissa Thorne, a graduate of Caesar Rodney High School in the Caesar Rodney School District received the Herman M. Holloway, Sr. Memorial Scholarship. Thorne will major in kinesiology.


  • The Charles L. Hebner Memorial Scholarship, in honor of the former Speaker of the State House of Representatives, is awarded annually to one full-time student at the University of Delaware and one full-time student at Delaware State University who are majoring in the humanities or social sciences. (Preference is given to political science majors.) Caroline Klinger of private Padua Academy, is the recipient of the Charles L. Hebner Memorial Scholarship at University of Delaware. She will major in political science. Malia Brittingham, a homeschool graduate, is the recipient at Delaware State University. She will major in history.


  • The Diamond State Scholarship assists full-time students attending regionally accredited, nonprofit colleges in any state. Winners of the Diamond State Scholarship receive $1,250 per year. For the 2018-19 academic year, 35 students were awarded Diamond State Scholarships. They are listed below by high school:


Name High school
Silpa Annavarapu Newark Charter School
Caelan Backus Seaford Senior High School
Kierstin Blatzheim Sussex Academy
David Bondi Archmere Academy
Josh Bredbenner Worcester Preparatory School
Faith Brown Charter School of Wilmington
Muhammad Burki Dickinson (John) High School
Noah Carpe Salesianum School
Michael Chen Newark Charter School
Christopher Czerwinski Newark Charter School
Ryan Dean MOT Charter
Olivia Duke Newark Charter School
Joshua Fickes Charter School of Wilmington
Chloe Frantz Newark High School
Jessica Goldschlager Caesar Rodney High School
Melina Hudson Milford Senior High School
Tyler Imprescia Polytech High School
Pooja Kaji Charter School of Wilmington
Joni Kashner Polytech High School
Sean Kelby Newark Charter School
Cullen Kisner Caesar Rodney High School
Naomi Mengel Tall Oaks Classical School
Maria Morelli Delmar Senior High School
Timothy Mulderrig Middletown High School
Romil Patel Newark Charter School
Ankita Prasad Newark Charter School
Evan Rosario Appoquinimink High School
Ryan Singh Middletown High School
Marshall Smith Wilmington Christian School
Charlotte Swafford Mt. Sophia Academy
Ryan Tarr Appoquinimink High School
Zachary The’ Charter School of Wilmington
Maria van Venrooy Charter School of Wilmington
Tanvi Venkatesh Newark Charter School
Sarah Wearden Caesar Rodney High School


Media Contact: Alison May,, 302-735-4006