Students Honored at 17th Annual Delaware Day Fourth Grade Competition Ceremony

DOVER – Students from across the state gathered Saturday at the Delaware Public Archives to celebrate the winners of the 17th Annual Delaware Day Fourth Grade Competition and to be recognized for their knowledge of the First State’s influential role in crafting the United States Constitution.

More than 530 students from 19 schools across the state were given two months to prepare informative displays illustrating Delaware’s role in the creation and ratification of the Constitution, integrating creative elements such as artwork, poetry, songs and cartoons. Representatives from the Department of State judged the projects focusing on three main areas: historical accuracy, spelling and creativity.

More than 14,000 students have participated in the annual Delaware Day Fourth Grade Competition since the start of the program in 2001. Delaware Day is observed each year on Dec. 7, the date that Delaware ratified the U.S. Constitution.

“Every year, Delawareans make special note of the day that our home earned its nickname, The First State,” said Secretary of State Jeff Bullock. “And every year I continue to be impressed by the creativity, knowledge and critical thinking on display in the projects that our fourth graders present to demonstrate their understanding of Delaware’s role in the American story.”

Each year, awards are given to schools with the most creative and historically accurate projects.
Named in honor of Delaware’s five signers of the U. S. Constitution, the awards recognize schools in each county plus the city of Wilmington as well as private schools. Projects also are evaluated by the Delaware Division of the Arts, with the most visually outstanding projects receiving an Artistic Merit Award in recognition of students’ creative use of design and composition.

Click here for a photo gallery from this year’s competition.

The winners of the 2018 Delaware Day Fourth Grade Competition are:

• George Read Award: Bunker Hill Elementary School, Appoquinimink School District

• Gunning Bedford Jr. Award: Robert S. Gallaher Elementary, Christina School District

• John Dickinson Award: Lake Forest Central Elementary, Lake Forest School District

• Richard Bassett Award: Laurel Elementary School, Laurel School District

• Jacob Broom Award: TIE – Learning Express Academy, Newark
Immaculate Heart of Mary School, Wilmington

• Artistic Merit Awards: Bunker Hill Elementary School
Laurel Elementary School
Lake Forest Central Elementary School
Robert S. Gallaher Elementary School

• Honorable Mention Awards

New Castle County
All Saints Catholic School
Christ the Teacher Catholic School
William B. Keene Elementary School
May B. Leasure Elementary School
Olive B. Loss Elementary School
Joseph M. McVey Elementary School
Etta J. Wilson Elementary School
UrbanPromise Wilmington
Ursuline Academy

Kent County
Fairview Elementary School
Booker T. Washington Elementary School

Sussex County
Lulu Ross Elementary School
Epworth Christian School

Artistic Merit Honorable Mention
Fairview Elementary School
Lulu Ross Elementary School
UrbanPromise Wilmington