Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs museums closed on Dec. 24 and 25, 2019; and Jan. 1, 2020

(DOVER, Del.—Dec. 20, 2019)—The five state museums administered by the Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs (the John Dickinson Plantation, the Johnson Victrola Museum, the New Castle Court House Museum, The Old State House and the Zwaanendael Museum) will be closed all day on Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2019 (Christmas Eve), Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2019 (Christmas Day), and Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2020 (New Year’s Day). All of the sites will return to their normal operating hours on Dec. 26, 2019 and Jan. 2, 2020 respectively.

The Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs is an agency of the State of Delaware. The division enhances Delaware’s quality of life by preserving the state’s unique historical heritage, fostering community stability and economic vitality and providing educational programs and assistance to the general public on Delaware history. The division’s diverse array of services includes operation of five museums which are accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, administration of the State Historic Preservation Office, conservation of the state’s archaeological and historic-objects collections, operation of a conference center and management of historic properties across the state. Primary funding for division programs and services is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, a federal agency. However, the contents and opinions expressed in the division’s programs and services do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Department of the Interior.

Picture of the Logo of the American Alliance of Museums


Jim Yurasek
Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Phone: 302-739-7787