Governor Carney Requires
Stricter Measures 1n Long-
Term Care Facilities to Fight
COVID-19

Updated emergency order seeks to
protect residents, workers 1in
nursing facilities

WILMINGTON, Del. — Governor John Carney on Wednesday issued
the eleventh modification to his State of Emergency
declaration, requiring stricter guidelines to prevent COVID-19
infections in nursing facilities and other long-term care
facilities.

Click here for Governor Carney’s eleventh modification to the
State of Emergency.

Governor Carney’s updated emergency order requires nursing
facilities to immediately ensure they are in full compliance
with the Public Health Authority guidance related to COVID-19.
Nursing facilities must check Division of Public Health (DPH)
guidance at least daily to ensure they are complying with the
most current guidance and adjust their policies, procedures,
and protocols accordingly.

“Our elderly populations, and especially Delawareans in long-
term care facilities, are at very high risk for COVID-19
infection and hospitalization. These stricter measures that
we’'re 1issuing today are 1intended to save lives,”
said Governor Carney. “All Delawareans should do their part
to protect their neighbors, friends, and family members -
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especially those who are immunocompromised. We know the
weather is getting nicer. But continue to stay at home. Don’t
go out in public unnecessarily. You’ll only increase the risk
for everyone. We’ll get through this. But we need to keep
working together.”

Governor Carney’s order requires all nursing facilities in
Delaware to immediately:

» Establish a cohort of staff who are assigned to care for
known or suspected COVID-19 residents.

 Designate a room, unit, or floor of the nursing facility
as a separate observation area where newly-admitted and
re-admitted residents are kept for 14 days on, while
being observed every shift for signs and symptoms of
COVID-19.

» Designate a room, unit, or floor of the nursing facility
to care for residents with known or suspected COVID-19.

Returning residents to their nursing facility remains a
priority, according to Tuesday’s order. Residents who have
been admitted or seen at a hospital for COVID-19 shall be
allowed to return to the nursing facility — as long as the
facility follows approved measures from the Division of Public
Health (DPH) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC).

If nursing facility residents must temporarily go to other
facilities, every effort must be made to transfer the
residents back to their original facility as soon as possible.
A negative COVID-19 test shall not be required prior to return
to a nursing facility.

Additionally, Governor Bacon Health Center (GBHC) will serve
as a non-acute alternate care site for patients who are
discharged from the hospital, have some Activities of Daily
Living needs, and are unable to return to their homes in the
community or in a long-term care facility due to caregiver or



staffing challenges. As previously announced, GBHC is one of
the tools the state will use to ensure that critical care beds
are available to people who need hospitalization and intensive
treatment for COVID-19 infections.

Governor Carney’'s State of Emergency declaration and its
eleven modifications — including the stay-at-home order for
Delawareans and mandatory 14-day quarantine for out-of-state
travelers — remain in effect and carry the full force and
effect of law.

Violations of an emergency declaration are a criminal offense.

Delawareans with questions about COVID-19, related to medical
or social service needs, should call 2-1-1; or 7-1-1 for
individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing. Hours of
operation are 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Friday,; and 9
a.m. to 5 p.m. on the weekends. Questions may also be
submitted by email at DPHCall@delaware.gov.

DPH will continue to update the public as more information
becomes available. For the latest on Delaware’s response,
visit: de.gov/coronavirus.
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