Beach Restrictions To Be
Lifted, Visitor Numbers
Limited In State Parks For
Memorial Day Weekend

Delawareans will resume activities such as swimming and
sunbathing on Delaware State Park beaches for Memorial Day
weekend, with existing restrictions on beaches being lifted by
the Governor effective Friday, May 22 at 5 p.m. Out-of-state
visitors who have maintained a 1l4-day quarantine since
entering the state are also allowed to resume activity on
Delaware beaches.

Since March, beach activities had been limited to exercising,
dog-walking and restricted surf fishing as part of precautions
against the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). Adequate social
distancing on the beaches remain a concern and will be closely
monitored as the restrictions are modified.

To carry out Gov. Carney’s phased reopening of Delaware
beaches, the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control announced the following for state parks:

Current restrictions on beach activity will be lifted starting
5 p.m. on Friday, May 22. Sunbathing, swimming, picnicking,
surfing, kayaking, walk-on surf fishing and other activities
will be allowed to resume for Delawareans and for those from
out-of-state who have quarantined 14 days.

At least 6-foot distance will be required on beaches among
those from different households, and groups of visitors from
the same household may be no larger than 10. Masks or face
coverings are encouraged to be worn on beaches.

Cape Henlopen, Delaware Seashore and Fenwick Island state
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parks will have capacity limits - between 50 and 70% of
parking spaces — that will be enforced at entrances and with
closure of parking spaces.

Visitors must bring face coverings, such as masks or bandanas,
with them when entering state parks. Within state parks, face
coverings must be worn in public settings where other social
distancing measures are difficult to maintain, such as in
bathhouses, park offices, concession buildings, boat docks,
and trails and paths where others are present.

Beach-area bathrooms and bathhouses will open May 22. Most
bathrooms in other state parks around the state will also
open, but some will remain closed due to distancing/cleaning
considerations.

Cleaning services will be increased to multiple times per day
at all open bathrooms and bathhouses.

For surf fishing, the emergency limit on number of persons per
vehicle will be lifted and now only one person will need to be
actively fishing. But 20-foot distancing between vehicles will
be required and drive-on beaches may be closed by officers to
additional vehicles when the carrying capacity to implement
social distancing is not possible.

State Park offices will open Thursday, May 21, and will
require credit cards for purchases. Face masks must be worn
when entering park offices.

Visitors are encouraged to purchase Annual Passes to avoid
anticipated delays for daily entrance payments.

Annual Pass and Surf-Fishing Permit sales resume availability
at all park offices starting Thursday, and are available
online at destateparks.com.

Daily park entrance fees will only be collected via the
automated credit card machines or self-registration envelopes



provided at park entrances for those without annual passes or
permits.

Camping and pavilion reservations at all state parks have been
canceled through May 31. Full refunds will be issued, and no
further action 1is required by the customer. Should the
Governor'’s state of emergency closure of camping be extended
beyond June 1, further cancellations will occur at that time.

State park daily entrance fees for vehicles registered 1in
Delaware are $4 at inland parks and $5 at ocean parks. Fees
for out-of-state vehicles are $8 at inland parks and $10 at
ocean parks. Annual park entrance passes are $35 for
Delawareans and $70 for out-of-state, with discounted rates
for military and for those on state or federal assistance,
including those on unemployment. For information on pass and
permit fees, go to destateparks.com/Know/passestagsfees.

About DNREC

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control protects and manages the state’s natural resources,
protects public health, provides outdoor recreational
opportunities, and educates Delawareans about the environment.
The Division of Parks and Recreation oversees more than 26,000
acres in 17 state parks and the Brandywine Zoo. For more
information, visit the website and connect with DNREC on
Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Media Contacts: Shauna McVey, shauna.mcvey@delaware.gov or
Nikki Lavoie, nikki.lavoie@delaware.gov.
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