Transportation Infrastructure Investment Fund Council Makes First Recommendations

The Transportation Infrastructure Investment Fund (TIIF) Council, an initiative announced by Governor John Carney in 2019, has made its first recommendations for project funding to Secretary of Transportation Jennifer Cohan and Secretary of State Jeffrey Bullock.

The council has recommended eight projects receive a total of $8.8 million in grant funds that will go toward infrastructure investments providing a public benefit and assist in the creation or relocation of more than 1,300 jobs in the state.

“We greatly appreciate the council’s work in reviewing the merits of each applicant and look forward to reviewing their recommendations,” said Secretary of Transportation Jennifer Cohan.

“The TIIF is a unique opportunity to offset infrastructure costs that may have prohibited these companies from expanding here in Delaware and is another tool now available to us to support our business community,” said Secretary of State Jeffrey Bullock.

State Representative and council member Bill Bush added, “As chair of the House Economic Development/Banking/Insurance & Commerce committee, I continue to advocate for helping businesses grow across our state and I am very pleased with the process we’ve created with TIIF to do just that.”

“The grants provided by TIIF will create a real public benefit and an immediate impact on businesses that are eager to expand and add good jobs in Delaware,” commented Joe Westcott, market president for Capital One and chair of the TIIF Council.

The recommendations put forth by the council are:

CHRF LLC $250,000 18
FMIIV (Project Cape) $600,000 159
RIG Acquisitions LLC (Fort DuPont RV Resort)  $1,350,000  5
Incyte Corporation  $1,092,154 952
Lakeshore Motor Corporation  $521,929.10 25
Miller Metal Fabrication $313,000 6
N.K.S. Distributors  $1,151,816.90 4
Peninsula Regional Health System  $3,570,000 150

TIIF was established to provide economic assistance for renovation, construction, or any other type of improvements to roads and related transportation infrastructure in order to attract new businesses or expand existing businesses in this Delaware, when such an economic development opportunity would create a significant number of direct, permanent, quality full-time jobs.

The members of the TIIF Council appointed by Governor Carney are Rob Book, Martin Nunlee, Cornelia Johnson, Mona Parikh, John Riley, Bill Strickland, and Joe Westcott, who serves as chair. Representative Bill Bush and Senator David Sokola were appointed by their respective chambers to represent the General Assembly on the council.

More information on TIIF can be found at