Governor Carney Issues Statement on Senate Confirmations

DOVER, Del.Governor John Carney issued the following statement on the Delaware Senate voting to confirm judicial nominations on Wednesday:

“I want to thank members of the Delaware Senate for their careful consideration of our nominees,” said Governor Carney. “I’m confident that each has the good judgment and experience necessary to serve on Delaware’s world-class judiciary with distinction. Thank you to all the nominees for their willingness to serve.”

The following nominations were confirmed on Wednesday:

Martin O’Connor was confirmed to serve as a Superior Court Commissioner in New Castle County. O’Connor has served as a Deputy Attorney General since 1998. During his time at the Delaware Department of Justice (DOJ), O’Connor has served as a Criminal Division prosecutor, as well as serving in the Criminal Division Appellate Unit, Medicaid Fraud Unit, and in the Civil Division.

Theresa Hayes was confirmed to serve as a Judge on the Family Court in Sussex County. Hayes has been a Family Court practitioner since 1996. She practices at the Office of Edward C. Gill P.A. in Georgetown, where she represents clients on all aspects of Family law. Previously, she served as a law clerk from 1994-1996 to the Honorable Battle R. Robinson and the Honorable Kenneth M. Millman on the Family Court in Sussex County.

Vice Chancellor J. Travis Laster was reappointed to serve as a Vice Chancellor on the Delaware Court of Chancery, where he has served since 2009. Previously, Vice Chancellor Laster was a founding partner of the corporate law firm Abrams & Laster LLP, and a director in the Corporate Department at Richards, Layton & Finger.

Earl MacFarlane was confirmed as Justice of the Peace for New Castle County.

Kristine Kellenbenz was confirmed as Justice of the Peace for Sussex County.

Taylor Oliphant was confirmed as Alderman of the Town of Laurel.

The Hon. Theodore Becker was confirmed to the Delaware River and Bay Authority.

Earl Jeter was confirmed to the Lottery Commission.

William Tobin was confirmed to the Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

Monica Alvarez and Kim Warfield, Ph.D. were confirmed to the State Board of Elections.