Four Virtual Programs at State Museums in January 2021

(DOVER, Del. — Dec. 21, 2020) — Cross-stitching, the wreck of the DeBraak, artist Francis Barraud and forgotten presidents will be explored in virtual programs streamed live on the Web by Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs museums during the month of January 2020. All programs are free and open to the public. Go to the following for additional information and reservation instructions: https://history.delaware.gov/2020/12/21/hca-programs-jan-2021.

Photo of Steven Mumford as Francis Baurraud
Museum interpreter Steven Mumford will portray the artist whose painting of a dog staring into a talking machine became the trademark of the Victor Talking Machine Company. The program, “Francis Barraud: His Master’s Voice,” will be streamed live from the Johnson Victrola Museum on Jan. 22, 2021.

Live virtual-programs in January 2021

Saturday, Jan. 2, 9, 16, 23 and 30, 2021
“Stitching on the Light: A Virtual Stitch Along.” Online program developed by Madeline Golden, former Zwaanendael Museum historical interpreter, in which participants create a cross-stitch embroidery featuring Lewes-area lighthouses. On Jan. 2, 9, 23 and 30, portions of the cross-stitch pattern and instructions will be posted on the museum’s Facebook and Instagram accounts. On Jan. 16 at 3:30 p.m., Golden will conduct a cross-stitch workshop streamed live via Zoom and on the museum’s Facebook page. 302-645-1148 or mailto:zmuseum@delaware.gov.

Thursday, Jan. 7, 2021
“The Wreck of the DeBraak.” Virtual program explores the history of the British warship DeBraak which sank off the coast of Lewes in May of 1798 only to be recovered by treasure hunters nearly 200 years later. 3:30 p.m. 302-645-1148 or mailto:zmuseum@delaware.gov.

Friday, Jan. 22, 2021
“Francis Barraud: His Master’s Voice.” Virtual living-history performance from Dover’s Johnson Victrola Museum in which historic-site interpreter Steven Mumford portrays artist Francis Barraud whose painting of a dog staring into a talking machine became the trademark of the Victor Talking Machine Company. 6 p.m. 302-739-3262 or mailto:JVmuseum@delaware.gov.

Saturday, Jan. 23, 2021
“Forgettable/Forgotten Presidents and How the Presidency Has Evolved.” Virtual presentation from the New Castle Court House Museum in which historic-site interpreter Bob Vander Decker explores the presidents of the Continental Congress through the ratification of the Articles of Confederation and U.S. Constitution. The program will explain why there have been 62 men elected to the office of president but Joe Biden is only listed as number 46. 1 p.m. 302-323-4453 or mailto:NCCHmuseum@delaware.gov.

Administered by the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, the five museums of the State of Delaware—the John Dickinson Plantation, the Johnson Victrola Museum, the New Castle Court House Museum, The Old State House and the Zwaanendael Museum—tell the story of the First State’s contributions to the history and culture of the United States. Through tours, exhibits, and special programs, the museums shine a spotlight on Delaware’s unique history and the diverse people who came to live there. The museums are accredited by the American Alliance of Museums. The New Castle Court House Museum and the John Dickinson Plantation are partner sites of the First State National Historical Park. The Old State House is located on the Dover Green, another partner site of the park. Go to the following for a long-term calendar of division-sponsored events.

Picture of the Logo of the American Alliance of Museums

 

The Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs is an agency of the State of Delaware. The division enhances Delaware’s quality of life by preserving the state’s unique historical heritage, fostering community stability and economic vitality and providing educational programs and assistance to the general public on Delaware history. The division’s diverse array of services includes operation of five museums, administration of the State Historic Preservation Office, conservation of the state’s archaeological and historic-objects collections, operation of a conference center and management of historic properties across the state. Primary funding for division programs and services is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, a federal agency. However, the contents and opinions expressed in the division’s programs and services do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Department of the Interior.

-30-

Contact:
Jim Yurasek
Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Phone: 302-608-5326
E-mail: Jim.Yurasek@delaware.gov
Web: http://history.delaware.gov


“Stitching On the Light: A Virtual Stitch Along”

-Online program from the Zwaanendael Museum during January 2021-

Photo of Madeline Golden working on a cross-stitch pattern.
Madeline Golden working on a cross-stitch pattern that features a likeness of the Zwaanendael Museum. Golden will be conducting a cross-stitch workshop on Jan. 16, 2020 as part of the “Stitching on the Light: A Virtual Stitch Along” program.

(DOVER, Del. — Dec. 18, 2020) — During the month of January 2021, the Zwaanendael Museum in Lewes, Del. will be conducting the online program “Stitching on the Light: A Virtual Stitch Along” in which participants create their own cross-stitch embroidery featuring likenesses of Lewes-area lighthouses including the Harbor of Refuge, Delaware Breakwater East End, and Fenwick Island lighthouses. Cross stitch is a form of needlework in which X-shaped stitches are used to form a picture.

On Jan. 2, 9, 23 and 30, portions of the cross-stitch pattern and instructions will be posted on the museum’s Facebook and Instagram accounts. On Jan. 16 at 3:30 p.m., former Zwaanendael Museum historical interpreter Madeline Golden will conduct a cross-stitch workshop streamed live via Zoom (registration required by going to the following hyperlink: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_zlK-SCGcSVSLFFiD7HDMfw). The workshop will also be streamed live on the museum’s Facebook page. “Stitching on the Light: A Virtual Stitch Along” is free and open to the public. For additional information, contact the Zwaanendael Museum via e-mail at zmuseum@delaware.gov or by telephone at 302-645-1148.

Photo of Zwaanendael Museum
Zwaanendael Museum

The Zwaanendael Museum was built in 1931 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the state’s first European colony, Swanendael, established by the Dutch along Hoorn Kill (present-day Lewes-Rehoboth Canal) in 1631. Designed by E. William Martin (architect of Legislative Hall and the Hall of Records in Dover), the museum is modeled after the town hall in Hoorn, the Netherlands, and features a stepped facade gable with carved stonework and decorated shutters. The museum’s exhibits and presentations provide a showcase for Lewes-area maritime, military and social history.

The Zwaanendael Museum is administered by the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, an agency of the State of Delaware. The division enhances Delaware’s quality of life by preserving the state’s unique historical heritage, fostering community stability and economic vitality and providing educational programs and assistance to the general public on Delaware history. The division’s diverse array of services includes operation of five museums which are accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, administration of the State Historic Preservation Office, conservation of the state’s archaeological and historic-objects collections, operation of a conference center and management of historic properties across the state. Primary funding for division programs and services is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, a federal agency. However, the contents and opinions expressed in the division’s programs and services do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Department of the Interior.
 

Picture of the Logo of the American Alliance of Museums logo

-30-

Contact:
Jim Yurasek
Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Phone: 302-608-5326
E-mail: Jim.Yurasek@delaware.gov
Web: http://history.delaware.gov


Zwaanendael Museum Decorated For The Holidays

(DOVER, Del. — Dec. 4, 2020) — During the week of Nov. 30, 2020, the Rehoboth-Beach-based Sussex Gardeners completed the installation of outdoor and indoor holiday decorations at the Zwaanendael Museum, located at 102 Kings Highway in Lewes, Del. Based on the theme, “Lighting the Way,” this year’s decorations utilize plant material and holiday objects to illustrate various sources of light including lanterns, lightships, lighthouses, starlight and luminarias. The museum’s decorations are presented in conjunction with Lewes Lights, a community event in which the city’s residents decorate their home exteriors for the holiday season.

Photo of a Zwaanendael Museum bench decorated for the holidays by the Sussex Gardeners.
Zwaanendael Museum bench decorated for the holidays by the Sussex Gardeners.

 

Founded in 1937 as the Nassau Garden Committee, the 50-plus-member Sussex Gardeners brings together members of the community who have an interest in the fine art of gardening, landscape design, floral design and horticulture. The group’s community outreach includes programs in garden therapy, conservation and civic beautification.

Photo of members of the Sussex Gardeners preparing to decorate the Zwaanendael Museum for the holidays.
Members of the Sussex Gardeners preparing to decorate the Zwaanendael Museum for the holidays.

The Zwaanendael Museum was built in 1931 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the state’s first European colony, Swanendael, established by the Dutch along Hoorn Kill (present-day Lewes-Rehoboth Canal) in 1631. Designed by E. William Martin (architect of Legislative Hall and the Hall of Records in Dover), the museum is modeled after the town hall in Hoorn, the Netherlands, and features a stepped facade gable with carved stonework and decorated shutters.

Photo of Zwaanendael Museum
Zwaanendael Museum

Museum exhibits and presentations provide a showcase for Lewes-area maritime, military and social history. Current exhibits include “Delaware Railroads: Elegant Travel and Timely Transport” which explores the history of rail travel and transport in the First State; and “A Seaborne Citizenry: The DeBraak and Its Atlantic World” which tells the story of His Majesty’s Sloop of War DeBraak, a British warship that sank off the Delaware coast on May 25, 1798.

The Zwaanendael Museum is open for free, 45-minute tours by reservation only from Wednesday through Saturday at 10 a.m., 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 2:30 p.m. For additional information about visiting the museum, go to https://history.delaware.gov/p1-reopening-info or call 302-645-1148.

The Zwaanendael Museum is administered by the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, an agency of the State of Delaware. The division enhances Delaware’s quality of life by preserving the state’s unique historical heritage, fostering community stability and economic vitality and providing educational programs and assistance to the general public on Delaware history. The division’s diverse array of services includes operation of five museums which are accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, administration of the State Historic Preservation Office, conservation of the state’s archaeological and historic-objects collections, operation of a conference center and management of historic properties across the state. Primary funding for division programs and services is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, a federal agency. However, the contents and opinions expressed in the division’s programs and services do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Department of the Interior.

 

Picture of the Logo of the American Alliance of Museums logo

-30-

Contact:
Jim Yurasek
Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Phone: 302-608-5326
E-mail: Jim.Yurasek@delaware.gov
Web: http://history.delaware.gov


Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse to be repainted

Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse

(DOVER, Del.—July 10, 2020)—In early summer 2020, contractors began the process of repainting the Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse located on the inner breakwater in the harbor of Lewes, Del. The lighthouse is owned by the State of Delaware and administered by the Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs. The project, which is expected to be completed before summer’s end, includes removal of old paint and rust, and repainting the entire exterior of the structure above its concrete foundation. Paint colors will replicate the existing red-brown and black.

Repainting the lighthouse will involve the presence of scaffolding, equipment, materials and workers on the breakwater as well as the usual noises that go with construction work during daytime hours.

No public access to the lighthouse or the breakwater will be permitted during the project. Under normal conditions, access to the breakwater and lighthouse is prohibited except for accompanied visits conducted by Cape Water Tours which will not resume until the project is completed.


About the Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse …

In 1825, Congress authorized the construction of a breakwater at the mouth of the Delaware Bay off Cape Henlopen in order to create a safe harbor for ships seeking refuge during storms. Begun in 1828 and completed in 1841, the Delaware Breakwater was a two-part structure comprised of a breakwater and an icebreaker pier. In 1897, the open space between these two sections was closed. Due to an increase in the size and number of ships seeking refuge in Breakwater Harbor, Congress authorized the construction of a 2nd breakwater approximately 1.25 miles to the northeast of the Delaware Breakwater on a shoal known as “The Shears.” Completed in 1901, this new, outer breakwater created a much larger and deeper safe harbor called the National Harbor of Refuge.

Located on the original inner breakwater, the Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse was completed in 1885. The red-brown conical structure is 22 feet in diameter at the base with a 45-foot-tall tower. It was decommissioned in 1996 and was formally conveyed by the United States government to the State of Delaware in 1999. It is as contributing resource of the Delaware Breakwaters and Lewes Harbor, listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1976, and the National Harbor of Refuge and Delaware Breakwater Harbor Historic District, listed in the National Register in 1989.

 

The Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs is an agency of the State of Delaware. The division enhances Delaware’s quality of life by preserving the state’s unique historical heritage, fostering community stability and economic vitality and providing educational programs and assistance to the general public on Delaware history. The division’s diverse array of services includes operation of five museums which are accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, administration of the State Historic Preservation Office, conservation of the state’s archaeological and historic-objects collections, operation of a conference center and management of historic properties across the state. Primary funding for division programs and services is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, a federal agency. However, the contents and opinions expressed in the division’s programs and services do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Department of the Interior.

-End-
Contact:
Jim Yurasek
Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Phone: 302-739-7787
E-mail: Jim.Yurasek@delaware.gov
Web: http://history.delaware.gov

Rehabilitation work underway at Lewes’ Zwaanendael Museum

(DOVER, Del.—June 22, 2020)—On June 22, 2020, the Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs began rehabilitation work at the Zwaanendael Museum located at 102 Kings Highway in Lewes, Del. Expected to continue for approximately one month, work will include cleaning of the entire exterior of the building with attention paid to its ornamental-design features, replacement of weather-damaged shutters and repainting of all remaining window frames and shutters according to existing colors and design.

Photo of the Zwaanendael Museum
Zwaanendael Museum

The division will work with the contractor to limit public inconvenience during the project. Residents and visitors will notice the presence of equipment, materials and workers on site as well as the usual noises that go with construction work during daytime hours. No evening or weekend work is anticipated.

The museum will remain open during the process, but, in keeping with Gov. Carney’s plans for reopening the state in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic, visitation is limited to 30-minute, self-guided tours by advance registration only on Fridays and Saturdays at 10 a.m., 11 a.m., 1 p.m. and 2 p.m.; and Sundays at 1:30 p.m., 2:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. Admission is free and open to the public. Call 302-645-1148 for reservations and additional information.

Photo of the Zwaanendael Museum's statue of David Pietersz de Vries
Ornamental-design features on the Zwaanendael Museum including a statue of David Pietersz de Vries, general administrator of the Swanendael colony.

The Zwaanendael Museum was built in 1931 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the state’s first European colony, Swanendael, established by the Dutch along Hoorn Kill (present-day Lewes-Rehoboth Canal) in 1631. Designed by E. William Martin (architect of Legislative Hall and the Hall of Records in Dover), the museum is modeled after the town hall in Hoorn, the Netherlands, and features a stepped facade gable with carved stonework and decorated shutters. Crowning the building’s façade is a statue of David Pietersz de Vries, general administrator of the Swanendael colony. The museum’s exhibits and presentations provide a showcase for Lewes-area maritime, military and social history.


The Zwaanendael Museum is administered by the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, an agency of the State of Delaware. The division enhances Delaware’s quality of life by preserving the state’s unique historical heritage, fostering community stability and economic vitality and providing educational programs and assistance to the general public on Delaware history. The division’s diverse array of services includes operation of five museums which are accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, administration of the State Historic Preservation Office, conservation of the state’s archaeological and historic-objects collections, operation of a conference center and management of historic properties across the state. Primary funding for division programs and services is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, a federal agency. However, the contents and opinions expressed in the division’s programs and services do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Department of the Interior.

Picture of the Logo of the American Alliance of Museums logo

-End-

Contact:
Jim Yurasek
Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Phone: 302-608-5326
E-mail: Jim.Yurasek@delaware.gov
Web: http://history.delaware.gov