DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Dec. 16-29
Reminder for the week: Renew your boat registration and purchase your 2020 fishing license
DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Dec. 16-29 made 1,459 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 48 citations. Officers responded to 58 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. A Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
• On Dec. 19, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested Daniel L. Wilson, 40, of Dover, for one count of theft under $1,500 following an investigation into theft of a trail camera near Little Creek. Wilson was arraigned through Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 2 and released on his own recognizance, pending a future court appearance.
Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:
Wildlife Conservation: Hunting migratory waterfowl before/after established shooting hours (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required federal waterfowl stamp (1), hunting migratory waterfowl with illegal toxic shot (1), hunting migratory waterfowl over illegal bait (9), possession of unlawfully taken game – Canada geese (3), possession of over the limit Canada geese (1), removing antlerless deer parts prior to checking (1), hunting with an unplugged shotgun capable of holding more than three shells (1), and trespass to hunt (1).
Fisheries Conservation: Unlicensed fishing (1) and trespass to fish (2).
Boating & Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (1), no navigation lights (1), and no boating safety certificate in possession (2).
Public Safety: Striking an occupied dwelling with shot discharged from a firearm (1), possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vessel (2), operating a motor vehicle at unreasonable speed (1), passing on a shoulder (1), possession of marijuana – civil (1), and possession of drug paraphernalia (1).
Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (6)*, trespassing in a closed area on Division lands (2)*, target shooting on a state wildlife area (2)*, operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (3), driving with a suspended or revoked license (1), and theft under $1,500 (1).
*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. The Public are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.
Are you AWARE?
• Boaters – Delaware boat registrations expired Dec. 31, and must be renewed before taking boats out on the water in 2020. Boat owners can register their boats or renew their registrations online, through DNREC’s boat registration office at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, or through private boat registration agents statewide. To find a participating agent or to register your boat online, visit Delaware Boat Registration Information. For additional information on boat registration, call 302-739-9916.
• Anglers – It’s time to purchase your 2020 Delaware fishing licenses, as 2019 licenses expired Dec. 31. A valid fishing license is required by most individuals for fishing, crabbing, and clamming in Delaware in both tidal and non-tidal waters. Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at DNREC’s licensing desk at 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by private license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.
Media Contact: Sgt. Brooke Mitchell, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913, or 302-382-7167.
Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.
Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.