DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife announces updated 2019/2020 state wildlife area maps

DOVER – Hunters and other wildlife area users are reminded that state wildlife area maps with updated regulations and access information for each wildlife area are available for the 2019/2020 hunting season, DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife announced today. The maps depict area boundaries, parking areas, deer stand and waterfowl blind locations, trails, wildlife-viewing facilities, and other helpful information.

Several new wildlife area properties are open for public access, particularly on the Eagles Nest, Cedar Swamp, and Tappahanna wildlife areas.

The maps and area-specific regulations are available online at Delaware Wildlife Area Maps. Paper copies of the maps are available at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk in the Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901. Licensing desk customers may take up to five printed maps of individual wildlife areas free of charge. A complete set of statewide maps costs $5 to purchase at the licensing desk, or $6 by mail.

Registered motor vehicles used to access designated wildlife areas owned or managed by the Division of Fish & Wildlife are required to display a Conservation Access Pass (CAP). Hunters can opt to receive one free annual CAP with the purchase of any Delaware hunting license. To obtain a CAP, hunters will need the registration card for the vehicle to which the pass will be assigned. Additional information is available at Conservation Access Pass.

Information on 2019/2020 hunting and trapping seasons, bag limits, and other helpful information is available at 2019-2020 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide. Hard copy guides are available from DNREC’s licensing desk and from license agents throughout the state.

For more information, please call the DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife’s Wildlife Section at 302-739-9912.

Follow DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife on Facebook, www.facebook.com/DelawareFishWildlife.

Contact: Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902

Vol. 49, No. 227


Office of Animal Welfare Reminds Residents of Statewide Locations for Purchasing Dog Licenses

Wilmington – It’s now easier than ever for dog owners in Delaware to license their furry family members, as required by state law. The Division of Public Health Office of Animal Welfare (OAW) has just added three retail locations to the list of places where residents can purchase dog licenses. Dog licenses are required for all dogs, six months and older. Those who fail to license their dogs face fines of $50 or more.

OAW offers dog owners the opportunity to purchase licenses online through the website PetData.com/delaware, through the mail by calling 1-877-730-6347, or in person at retail establishments.

The recently added retail locations are in Kent and Sussex counties: Yarn and Bone Pet Supply Store in Camden, and Pet Stop locations in Millville and Fenwick Island. They join existing locations in New Castle County: Brandywine Valley SPCA in New Castle, New London Veterinary Hospital in Newark, Delaware Humane Association in Wilmington, and New Castle County Government Center.

“There are still many pet owners who don’t know that licensing is required for dogs and we are working hard to make the process as easy as possible for them,” said Christina Motoyoshi, deputy director for the Office of Animal Welfare. “We’re very excited to expand the opportunity to purchase licenses at retail establishments, making it even more convenient for residents statewide.”

An annual dog license is $10 if the animal is spayed or neutered, and is $15 for unaltered dogs. Proof of current rabies vaccination, which is mandatory for dogs, cats and ferrets six months and older, is required to obtain a license. Two- or three-year licenses are available as long as the rabies vaccination is valid during that second or third year as well. Fees are waived for seeing-eye, guide or lead dogs, or dogs that have former U.S. military service.

The OAW assumed dog licensing administration from the counties and City of Wilmington beginning January 1, and created a statewide license for 2016. The State will honor expiration dates of existing County and City licenses.

“Licensing your dog ensures that if they become lost and are picked up by our officers, they will immediately be brought home”, said Mark Tobin, chief of Delaware Animal Services, the enforcement unit of OAW. “It is also much easier and cheaper than paying fines if you’re caught without one.”

According to OAW, licensing lets people know that your dog has been vaccinated against rabies. The license fees support the efforts of Delaware Animal Services, which works to reunite lost animals with their owners, ensures care and placement of stray animals, and enhances public safety.

A person who is deaf, hard-of-hearing, deaf-blind or speech-disabled can call the DPH phone number above by using TTY services. Dial 7-1-1 or 800-232-5460 to type your conversation to a relay operator, who reads your conversation to a hearing person at DPH. The relay operator types the hearing person’s spoken words back to the TTY user. To learn more about TTY availability in Delaware, visit http://delawarerelay.com.

Delaware Health and Social Services is committed to improving the quality of the lives of Delaware’s citizens by promoting health and well-being, fostering self-sufficiency, and protecting vulnerable populations. DPH, a division of DHSS, urges Delawareans to make healthier choices with the 5-2-1 Almost None campaign: eat 5 or more fruits and vegetables each day, have no more than 2 hours of recreational screen time each day (includes TV, computer, gaming), get 1 or more hours of physical activity each day, and drink almost no sugary beverages.


Law Changed to Help Give Delaware Veterans Fair Access to Jobs

Governor signs bill to end unnecessary requirements for receiving professional licenses

Dover, DE – Eliminating an unnecessary obstacle for Delawareans who serve our country to pursue economic opportunities at home, Governor Markell joined members of the General Assembly and veterans at the Air Mobility Command Museum at Dover Air Force Base to sign legislation that allows veterans to more fairly compete for jobs.

Governor Markell joined members of the General Assembly and veterans at the Air Mobility Command Museum at Dover Air Force Base to sign legislation that allows veterans to more fairly compete for jobs.
Governor Markell joined members of the General Assembly and veterans at the Air Mobility Command Museum at Dover Air Force Base to sign legislation that allows veterans to more fairly compete for jobs.

House Bill 296, sponsored by Rep. Earl Jaques (D-Glasgow) and Sens. Brian Bushweller (D-Dover) and Bruce Ennis (D-Smyrna), allows professional licensing boards to recognize military education, training, and experience when reviewing credentials and issuing licenses. This change will assist service personnel in obtaining and/or renewing professional licenses when transitioning from active duty.

The Governor noted that, before today, medical personnel returning from treating members of the armed forces overseas were told they must complete an entire educational program because they didn’t have the right training or experience to obtain a nursing license in Delaware. Similar circumstances affected veterans in a variety of professions.

“As a state and as a nation, we have no more sacred responsibility than to ensure that the men and women who sign up to serve us have fair opportunities to succeed when their tours of duty are over,” said Markell. “And it’s not complicated to realize that they will only get those opportunities if they can compete for jobs on a level playing field with everyone else. House Bill 296 corrects the flaws in our licensing system that have inadvertently, but unacceptably, worked against our service members and their families.”

HB 296 further allows boards to issue temporary licenses to service personnel when they hold a valid license from another state. The current Delaware law only allows Boards to do so for military spouses.

“We passed legislation last year to aid military spouses with state professional licensure, and when we learned this was a problem for military members themselves, we immediately crafted this bill to remedy that,” said Rep. Earl Jaques, D-Glasgow, who chairs the House Veterans Affairs Committee. “Any time we can assist veterans, guardsmen and reservists with their transitions to the civilian world, we want to do so.”

Delaware has made progress in giving Veterans the support they have earned. According to the Institute for Veterans and Military Families, the Delaware unemployment rate for the most recent returning veterans – those categorized as Gulf War II Veterans – plummeted from 12.9 percent to 6.4 percent from the end of 2011 to the end of 2013. Today’s bill signing marks another step in supporting servicemen and women and their families. “We have a lot of highly skilled service members right here at Dover Air Force Base who see what Delaware has to offer and want to stay here when their tour of duty ends and we want to make it as easy as possible to keep those skills in Delaware,”  said Sen. Bushweller, D-Dover. “This helps take us from talking about helping our veterans succeed in civilian life to actually doing something to help our veterans both stay here and succeed in civilian life.”

“This makes sense,” said Sen. Ennis, D-Smyrna. “We all recognize the high-quality training our service members receive. This simply makes it easier to switch those skills from the military to civilian worlds.”

Governor Markell signs House Bills 296 and 324.
Governor Markell signs House Bills 296 and 324.

Among those celebrating the bill signing was Deshawn Jenkins, a nurse who served as a medic in the Air Force and had difficulty obtaining a license to get a job when he left the military. He visited Legislative Hall this year to urge the General Assembly to change the law so other service members would not experience the same impediments to successfully transitioning to civilian life.

“This law will make a difference for veterans,” said Jenkins. “I’m proud that today Delaware is taking this step to fully recognize how military experience and training can help veterans contribute to the state’s workforce and economy. I thank the Governor and the legislators who listened to veterans concerned about this issue and made sure it was fixed.”

At today’s event, Markell also signed House Bill 324, sponsored by Rep. Jaques, which creates special motor vehicle license plates for the purpose of honoring Delaware’s veterans.

“There are so many Delawareans who want to do something to support our military and the men and women who have served, but who don’t have a direct connection to the military,” said Rep. Jaques. “The special plate lets those folks show their support, as well as contribute to the Veterans Trust Fund we established to provide direct aid to veterans in our communities.”

 

VIDEO Veterans Bill Signing

PHOTOS Veterans Bill Signing