DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife announces updated 2019/2020 state wildlife area maps

DOVER – Hunters and other wildlife area users are reminded that state wildlife area maps with updated regulations and access information for each wildlife area are available for the 2019/2020 hunting season, DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife announced today. The maps depict area boundaries, parking areas, deer stand and waterfowl blind locations, trails, wildlife-viewing facilities, and other helpful information.

Several new wildlife area properties are open for public access, particularly on the Eagles Nest, Cedar Swamp, and Tappahanna wildlife areas.

The maps and area-specific regulations are available online at Delaware Wildlife Area Maps. Paper copies of the maps are available at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk in the Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901. Licensing desk customers may take up to five printed maps of individual wildlife areas free of charge. A complete set of statewide maps costs $5 to purchase at the licensing desk, or $6 by mail.

Registered motor vehicles used to access designated wildlife areas owned or managed by the Division of Fish & Wildlife are required to display a Conservation Access Pass (CAP). Hunters can opt to receive one free annual CAP with the purchase of any Delaware hunting license. To obtain a CAP, hunters will need the registration card for the vehicle to which the pass will be assigned. Additional information is available at Conservation Access Pass.

Information on 2019/2020 hunting and trapping seasons, bag limits, and other helpful information is available at 2019-2020 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide. Hard copy guides are available from DNREC’s licensing desk and from license agents throughout the state.

For more information, please call the DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife’s Wildlife Section at 302-739-9912.

Follow DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife on Facebook, www.facebook.com/DelawareFishWildlife.

Contact: Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902

Vol. 49, No. 227


DNREC Division of Fish & Wildlife announces arrival of 2019/20 Delaware Hunting & Trapping guide

Hunting and trapping licenses, waterfowl stamps on sale now

DOVER – DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife announced today that the 2019/20 Delaware Hunting & Trapping guide is now available at participating license agents throughout the state, at the Division of Fish & Wildlife’s licensing desk in the Richardson & Robbins Building located at 89 Kings Highway in Dover, DE 19901, and online. This year’s cover features the winning photo from this year’s Hunting Photography Contest, “Hunting Memories” by Harry Hoch Jr. of Greenwood, featuring his father Dr. Harry L. Hoch and friend Bill Cole, after a hunt near Harrington.

The guide lists season dates for the 2019/20 hunting and trapping seasons, including migratory game bird seasons, as well as a summary of Delaware laws and regulations for legal harvest of game animals. Readers can also find information on licensing/permit requirements, including the hunting and trapping license fee structure and information on the Conservation Access Pass for state wildlife areas. Public land hunting opportunities, hunting and trapping classes offered by the Division of Fish & Wildlife’s Hunter Education Program, and other helpful hunting, trapping, and wildlife information are also included in the guide.

Delaware hunting and trapping licenses and waterfowl stamps for the 2019/20 seasons went on sale July 1. Most Delaware residents age 16 or older and under the age of 65 and non-residents age 16 or older must purchase an adult hunting license to hunt in Delaware. A resident or non-resident junior hunting license is required for hunters ages 13 through 15.

Hunting licenses and Delaware waterfowl stamps can be purchased online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware hunting licenses, call 302-739-9918.

Media Contact: Joanna Wilson, DNREC Public Affairs, 302-739-9902


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: May 20-26

Reminder for the week: Crabbers should review regulations before placing pots

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between May 20-26 made 3,888 contacts with anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 110 citations. Officers responded to 157 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. A Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

  • On May 24, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested Mary M. Cain, 38, of Houston, for one count each of trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area, possession of drug paraphernalia not marijuana related, possession of marijuana – civil, possession of heroin, and two counts of possession of an opium or derivative at Coursey Pond near Felton. Cain was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 and released on her own recognizance pending a future court date.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Fisheries Conservation: Possession of undersized blue crabs (10), possession of sponge crabs (2), no Fisherman Information Network (FIN) number (22), unlicensed fishing (9), and possession of undersized white perch (1).

Boating & Boating Safety: No life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (8)*, operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (5), operating a personal watercraft without required life jackets (6), no throwable life preserver aboard as required for vessels 16 feet long or longer (1)*, operating an unregistered vessel (1), operating a vessel without a vessel registration card in possession (3), no boating safety certificate (5), allowing use of non-compliant vessel (3), no navigation lights (2)*, and operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol (1).

Public Safety: Possession of drug paraphernalia not marijuana related (1), possession of marijuana – civil (1), possession of heroin (1), and possession of an opium or derivative (2).

Other: Operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (1)*, trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (23)*, and parking violation – no stopping, standing, or parking (2).

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind recreational crabbers to review state regulations governing blue crabs, including the required use of a turtle by-catch reduction device in recreational crab pots. Turtle by-catch reduction devices are available at many tackle shops where crab pots are sold.

Other Delaware crabbing regulations include:

  • A Delaware recreational fishing license is required for crabbing.
  • The recreational daily limit on blue crabs is one bushel per person.
  • Minimum “keeper” size for male blue crabs and immature female crabs with the V-shaped apron is 5 inches, measured across the shell from point to point.
  • Mature female crabs, identified by the U-shaped apron, are exempt from the minimum size of 5 inches because many females reach maturity at a smaller size.
  • Mature female blue crabs bearing eggs, known as sponge crabs and recognizable by the orange eggs visible under the apron, may not be taken and must be returned to the water immediately.
  • Recreational crabbers may use any number of single, baited hand lines, trot lines (a longer weighted line with a series of baited points), or pull traps. Standard size and possession limits as noted above apply.
  • Recreational crabbers may not use, place, set, or tend more than two crab pots.
  • Recreational crab pots must be tended by the owner at least once every 72 hours and must be marked with white buoys with the owner’s name and permanent mailing address.
  • Recreational crabbers are prohibited from selling blue crabs; only commercially-licensed crabbers are permitted to offer blue crabs for sale in Delaware.
  • Crabbing or fishing off courtesy docks at state-owned boat ramps is prohibited.
  • To avoid being cited for littering, gather up leftover bait, bait containers, crab lines, and other trash for proper disposal. Fish & Wildlife fishing areas and wildlife areas are “carry in, carry out” for trash.

For more information on crabbing in Delaware, click on 2019 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

Contact: Sgt. Brooke Mitchell, 302-382-7167, or Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: April 1-7

Reminder for the week: Turkey hunting season opening; baiting prohibited

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between April 1-7 made 1,233 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 19 citations. Officers responded to 49 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. A Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police in the Community
• On April 5, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers discussed the role of Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers and answered hunting, fishing, and boating questions during a career fair at Delaware Technical Community College Stanton Campus.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
• On April 5, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers responded to a capsized vessel and two uninjured individuals that had been rescued from the water and transported to the shoreline by a citizen on the Indian River near Oak Orchard. The cause of the capsizing is still under investigation.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:
Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Unlicensed fishing (3)*, no Fisherman Information Network (FIN) number (3), possession of undersized white perch (1), possession of over- the-limit trout (1), and fishing a closed trout stream (2).
Public Safety: Possession of marijuana – civil (3) and possession of drug paraphernalia (2).
Other: Damaging state property on a wildlife area (1)*, target shooting on a wildlife area (1), littering on a state wildlife area (1), and improper lane change (1).
*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 1.800.292.3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
With the opening of Delaware’s turkey hunting season on Saturday, April 13, Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind turkey hunters that it is unlawful to use bait as an attractant while in pursuit of wild turkeys. Some common bait that is illegally used includes wheat, corn, sunflower seeds, and various birdseed blends. Hunters are responsible for ensuring that no bait is present in an area where they are hunting turkeys.

Delaware offers hunting opportunities for wild turkeys on several state wildlife areas and state forests by permit only. Turkey hunters are drawn via a pre-season lottery and issued a permit that enables them to hunt a specified public land area during a specified one-week segment. Hunters selected for a public land permit must carry their permit, as well as their turkey education card and hunting license, at all times while hunting.

For hunters who harvest a spring gobbler, the Division of Fish & Wildlife requires that the turkey be checked at an authorized check station by 2:30 p.m. on the same day the turkey was harvested. Information obtained through the check stations is used by the Division of Fish & Wildlife to help manage Delaware’s wild turkey population.

2019 turkey check station hours may vary, so hunters are advised to call the station where they plan to check a bird to confirm hours of operation. Hunters who want to have their bird scored and entered into the National Wild Turkey Federation records also are reminded to have their bird’s live weight recorded on a certified scale. If the check station does not have a certified scale, hunters will be directed to another station to have the turkey re-weighed.

For more information on hunting in Delaware, click on 2018-2019 Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk and from license agents throughout the state.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

-End-


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Jan. 28-Feb. 3

Reminder for the week: Spring ahead of Spring Aboard

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Jan. 28-Feb. 3 made 1,152 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 16 citations. Officers responded to 28 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Jeremy T Delinois
Jeremy T Delinois

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

  • On Jan. 30, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested Jeremy T. Delinois, 24, of Leipsic, for one count each of possession of a firearm by a person prohibited, hunting migratory waterfowl without required federal waterfowl stamp, and no hunting license in possession. Delinois was video arraigned at Kent County Justice Peace Court 7 and released on unsecured bond pending a future court appearance.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Wildlife Conservation: License forgery or misrepresentation (1), no hunting license in possession (1), and hunting migratory waterfowl without required federal waterfowl stamp (1).

Public Safety: Possession of a firearm by a person prohibited (1) and leaving the scene of a property damage vehicle collision (1).

Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (11)*.

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind boaters to spring ahead of the upcoming National Association of State Boating Law Administrators’ (NASBLA) Spring Aboard campaign for boating education by enrolling now in a boater safety course.

This year’s Spring Aboard campaign will take place from March 17-23, with boating safety courses currently being offered. These courses cover the rules and regulations of Delaware’s waterways, including appropriate speed limits, responsible boating skills and awareness, how to distinguish navigational aids and water depths, weather tips, information about basic engine mechanics, required and/or recommended safety equipment, what to do if a Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officer stops your vessel, and the dangers of boating under the influence. Upon completing the course, boaters receive a boating safety certificate, which is required to operate motorized boats in Delaware for boaters born on or after Jan. 1, 1978.

For more information, including Delaware’s boating safety course schedule, access to the online Delaware Boating Handbook, and other boating information, please visit Delaware Boating Safety or contact Lt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, at 302-365-8705 or email john.mcderby@delaware.gov.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

Contact: Lt. John McDerby, 302-354-1386, or Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913