Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


Traffic Safety News – Click It or Ticket

Traffic Safety News | Date Posted: Tuesday, May 14, 2013



It’s that time of year again.  This year marks the 13th year that the Office of Highway Safety has teamed up with Delaware Law
Enforcement Agencies to educate the public and enforce the seat belt law during the annual Click It or Ticket Campaign.

Get the Facts

In Delaware, being safe while on the roadway is a top priority. A seat belt is simple and easy to use and when used correctly, you are 50% more likely to survive a crash.

  • Everyone in the vehicle, including  backseat passengers and children, must wear seat belts properly.
  • Lap and shoulder belts must be worn low across the hips and across the chest.
  • Children must be in  an age/ weight appropriate seat. The back seat is safest for all children under the age of 12.
  • Since it is a  primary law, a police officer may pull a vehicle over if anyone is observed not wearing a seat belt.
  • Drivers who are  unbelted, or have unbelted passengers, may face a fine and court costs totaling $83.50

You will see messaging from OHS on television, on the web, while listening to the radio, on billboards, and at your place of business.  Join the other 88% of Delawareans who already buckle up.  Every trip, Every time.

Click It or Ticket.  Arrive Alive DE.

This message is being sent to you by the Office of Highway Safety, who asks you to drive safely at all times.  For more information on this and other traffic safety programs, go to www.ohs.delaware.gov.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

Traffic Safety News – Click It or Ticket

Traffic Safety News | Date Posted: Tuesday, May 14, 2013



It’s that time of year again.  This year marks the 13th year that the Office of Highway Safety has teamed up with Delaware Law
Enforcement Agencies to educate the public and enforce the seat belt law during the annual Click It or Ticket Campaign.

Get the Facts

In Delaware, being safe while on the roadway is a top priority. A seat belt is simple and easy to use and when used correctly, you are 50% more likely to survive a crash.

  • Everyone in the vehicle, including  backseat passengers and children, must wear seat belts properly.
  • Lap and shoulder belts must be worn low across the hips and across the chest.
  • Children must be in  an age/ weight appropriate seat. The back seat is safest for all children under the age of 12.
  • Since it is a  primary law, a police officer may pull a vehicle over if anyone is observed not wearing a seat belt.
  • Drivers who are  unbelted, or have unbelted passengers, may face a fine and court costs totaling $83.50

You will see messaging from OHS on television, on the web, while listening to the radio, on billboards, and at your place of business.  Join the other 88% of Delawareans who already buckle up.  Every trip, Every time.

Click It or Ticket.  Arrive Alive DE.

This message is being sent to you by the Office of Highway Safety, who asks you to drive safely at all times.  For more information on this and other traffic safety programs, go to www.ohs.delaware.gov.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.