Read the latest news on coronavirus in Delaware. More Info

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: May 1-7

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Saturday, May 13, 2017


DNREC Logo

Reminder for the week: Tautog season closed through July 16; possession prohibited

DOVER – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between May 1-7 made 4,630 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 32 vessel boardings for boating safety, hunting and fishing regulation compliance checks, issuing 11 citations.

Officers responded to 22 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police in the CommunityDE F&W Natural Resources Police logo

  • On May 3, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers attended the annual Delaware Law Enforcement Memorial ceremony held at Legislative Hall in Dover.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Incidents of note:

  • On May 1, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police arrested Thomas W. Hendricks, 63, of Frederica following a commercial fisheries compliance check near Bowers Beach, and charged him with one count of exceeding the commercial individual catch quota for striped bass. Hendricks was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 where he plead guilty and was fined $179, including court costs.
  • Also on May 1, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police arrested Marion J. Rowan, 56, of Hartly following a commercial fisheries compliance check near Cedar Creek, and charged him with one count of exceeding the commercial individual catch quota for striped bass. Rowan was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 where he plead guilty and was fined $179, including court costs.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Unlicensed fishing (2)*, possession of undersized white perch (2)*, possession of undersized blue crabs (1), and use of recreational crab pots without required turtle excluder (1). Commercial: unlawful for commercial fisherman to exceed individual quota for striped bass (2).

Boating and Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (1), and no life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (1).

Other: Operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (1)*.

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.

Are you AWARE?
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind anglers that landing and possession of tautog in Delaware is prohibited from May 12 – July 16 and again from Sept. 1- 28, regardless of where the fish was caught – whether Delaware waters, another state’s waters or federal waters.

  • Tautog typically spawn in offshore waters in late spring to early summer. Due to their slow reproduction and growth, the species is vulnerable to overfishing, and Delaware’s regulations are based on management guidelines issued by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission to protect stocks from overfishing. Regulations include:
    A tautog size minimum of 15 inches for all seasons;
  • A possession limit of five fish from Jan. 1 – March 31, July 17 – Aug. 31, and Sept. 29 – Dec. 31; and
  • A possession limit of three fish from April 1 – May 11.

For a complete anglers’ guide to fishing in Delaware, click Delaware fish species; for specific information on tautog, click here.

Most anglers are required to have a Delaware fishing license. Licenses are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.

For more information on fishing in Delaware, click on 2017 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.

Like Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, www.facebook.com/pages/Delaware-Fish-Wildlife-Natural-Resources-Police.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

Media contact: Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913 or 302-354-1386

-30-

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: May 1-7

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Saturday, May 13, 2017


DNREC Logo

Reminder for the week: Tautog season closed through July 16; possession prohibited

DOVER – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between May 1-7 made 4,630 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 32 vessel boardings for boating safety, hunting and fishing regulation compliance checks, issuing 11 citations.

Officers responded to 22 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police in the CommunityDE F&W Natural Resources Police logo

  • On May 3, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers attended the annual Delaware Law Enforcement Memorial ceremony held at Legislative Hall in Dover.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Incidents of note:

  • On May 1, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police arrested Thomas W. Hendricks, 63, of Frederica following a commercial fisheries compliance check near Bowers Beach, and charged him with one count of exceeding the commercial individual catch quota for striped bass. Hendricks was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 where he plead guilty and was fined $179, including court costs.
  • Also on May 1, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police arrested Marion J. Rowan, 56, of Hartly following a commercial fisheries compliance check near Cedar Creek, and charged him with one count of exceeding the commercial individual catch quota for striped bass. Rowan was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 where he plead guilty and was fined $179, including court costs.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Unlicensed fishing (2)*, possession of undersized white perch (2)*, possession of undersized blue crabs (1), and use of recreational crab pots without required turtle excluder (1). Commercial: unlawful for commercial fisherman to exceed individual quota for striped bass (2).

Boating and Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (1), and no life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law (1).

Other: Operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (1)*.

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.

Are you AWARE?
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind anglers that landing and possession of tautog in Delaware is prohibited from May 12 – July 16 and again from Sept. 1- 28, regardless of where the fish was caught – whether Delaware waters, another state’s waters or federal waters.

  • Tautog typically spawn in offshore waters in late spring to early summer. Due to their slow reproduction and growth, the species is vulnerable to overfishing, and Delaware’s regulations are based on management guidelines issued by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission to protect stocks from overfishing. Regulations include:
    A tautog size minimum of 15 inches for all seasons;
  • A possession limit of five fish from Jan. 1 – March 31, July 17 – Aug. 31, and Sept. 29 – Dec. 31; and
  • A possession limit of three fish from April 1 – May 11.

For a complete anglers’ guide to fishing in Delaware, click Delaware fish species; for specific information on tautog, click here.

Most anglers are required to have a Delaware fishing license. Licenses are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.

For more information on fishing in Delaware, click on 2017 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.

Like Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, www.facebook.com/pages/Delaware-Fish-Wildlife-Natural-Resources-Police.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

Media contact: Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913 or 302-354-1386

-30-

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.