Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Dec. 17-Jan. 6

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, January 11, 2019



Reminder for the week: New Year – New fishing licenses & boat registrations!

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers for the three week period between Dec. 17- Jan. 6 made 2,849 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 51 citations. Officers responded to 128 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
• On Jan. 6, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested William C. McCrea, 30, of Massey, Maryland, for one count each of hunting antlered deer during the special antlerless season and possession of unlawfully taken game – antlered deer, following an investigation near Clayton. McCrea was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 where he pled guilty, was fined $115, including court costs, and released.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Wildlife Conservation: Hunt antlered deer during special antlerless season (1), possession of unlawfully taken game – antlered deer (2), failure to tag antlered deer (1), failure to check antlered deer within 24 hours (1), killing an antlered deer without first purchasing a hunters choice deer tag (1), unlicensed hunting (2), hunting illegally on Sunday in Delaware State Forestry lands (2), hunting with an unplugged shotgun capable of holding more than three shells (2)*, hunting migratory waterfowl without required state waterfowl stamp (2), federal laws adopted – hunting migratory waterfowl without required federal waterfowl stamp (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required HIP number (1), trespassing to hunt (2), and hunting on a refuge (1).

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Unlicensed fishing (2). Commercial: Commercial crabbing without a Delaware crabbing license (5) and commercial crab dredging from a vessel not licensed for crab dredging (1).

Boating and Boating Safety: No navigation lights (3).

Public Safety: Speeding on a state wildlife area (1)* and possession of drug paraphernalia – not marijuana related (2).

Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (10)*, operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (6)*, damaging state property on a state wildlife area (1)*, and operating an unregistered motor vehicle (1)*.
*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
It has been a few weeks since we have gotten news out, so here is a refresher on some New Year reminders:

Boaters – Delaware boat registrations that expired Dec. 31, 2018 must be renewed before taking boats out on the water this year. Boat owners can register their boats or renew their registrations online, through DNREC’s boat registration office at 89 Kings Highway in Dover, DE 19901, or through private agents throughout the state. For more information, visit Delaware Boat Registration Information or contact the boat registration office at 302-739-9916.

Anglers – It’s time to purchase your 2019 Delaware fishing licenses as 2018 licenses expired Dec. 31. A valid fishing license is required for fishing, crabbing, and clamming in Delaware in both tidal and non-tidal waters. Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.

Media contact: Sgt. Brooke Mitchell, 302-382-7167, or Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913.

-End-


Recent Stories

Related Topics:  , , , , ,


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Dec. 17-Jan. 6

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, January 11, 2019



Reminder for the week: New Year – New fishing licenses & boat registrations!

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers for the three week period between Dec. 17- Jan. 6 made 2,849 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 51 citations. Officers responded to 128 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
• On Jan. 6, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested William C. McCrea, 30, of Massey, Maryland, for one count each of hunting antlered deer during the special antlerless season and possession of unlawfully taken game – antlered deer, following an investigation near Clayton. McCrea was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 where he pled guilty, was fined $115, including court costs, and released.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Wildlife Conservation: Hunt antlered deer during special antlerless season (1), possession of unlawfully taken game – antlered deer (2), failure to tag antlered deer (1), failure to check antlered deer within 24 hours (1), killing an antlered deer without first purchasing a hunters choice deer tag (1), unlicensed hunting (2), hunting illegally on Sunday in Delaware State Forestry lands (2), hunting with an unplugged shotgun capable of holding more than three shells (2)*, hunting migratory waterfowl without required state waterfowl stamp (2), federal laws adopted – hunting migratory waterfowl without required federal waterfowl stamp (1), hunting migratory waterfowl without required HIP number (1), trespassing to hunt (2), and hunting on a refuge (1).

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Unlicensed fishing (2). Commercial: Commercial crabbing without a Delaware crabbing license (5) and commercial crab dredging from a vessel not licensed for crab dredging (1).

Boating and Boating Safety: No navigation lights (3).

Public Safety: Speeding on a state wildlife area (1)* and possession of drug paraphernalia – not marijuana related (2).

Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (10)*, operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (6)*, damaging state property on a state wildlife area (1)*, and operating an unregistered motor vehicle (1)*.
*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
It has been a few weeks since we have gotten news out, so here is a refresher on some New Year reminders:

Boaters – Delaware boat registrations that expired Dec. 31, 2018 must be renewed before taking boats out on the water this year. Boat owners can register their boats or renew their registrations online, through DNREC’s boat registration office at 89 Kings Highway in Dover, DE 19901, or through private agents throughout the state. For more information, visit Delaware Boat Registration Information or contact the boat registration office at 302-739-9916.

Anglers – It’s time to purchase your 2019 Delaware fishing licenses as 2018 licenses expired Dec. 31. A valid fishing license is required for fishing, crabbing, and clamming in Delaware in both tidal and non-tidal waters. Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.

Media contact: Sgt. Brooke Mitchell, 302-382-7167, or Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913.

-End-


Recent Stories

Related Topics:  , , , , ,