Seventeen Delaware Artists Receive Fellowship Grants

Date Posted: Tuesday, January 8th, 2013
Categories:  News The Arts

The Delaware Division of the Arts has announced the Fiscal Year 2013 winners of its Individual Artist Fellowship (IAF) grants. Seventeen individual Delaware artists are being recognized for the high quality of their artwork in the visual arts, literature, music, jazz performance, choreography, and folk arts. Artists were selected from towns throughout the state including Bear, Dover, Harbeson, Lewes, Lincoln, Milford, Milton, Newark, and Wilmington. Their work ranged from photography and sculpture to playwriting and choreography.

The work of 85 applicants was judged by arts professionals from around the country. Through the IAF grants, the artists’ achievements are affirmed, helping provide the recognition and exposure that artists need to successfully promote their work. The artists receive a financial award—$3,000 for the Emerging category and $6,000 for the Established category—allowing them to pursue advanced training, purchase equipment and materials, or fulfill other needs that allow them to advance their careers. The public will have an opportunity to see the varied artwork by these artists as they are required to have a public exhibit or performance showcasing their work in the upcoming year.

Listed below are the Delaware Division of the Arts 2013 Individual Artist Fellows. Contact information for the artists may be obtained by calling Kristin Pleasanton, the Division’s Art and Artist Services Coordinator, at (302) 577-8284 in Wilmington or (302) 736-7436 in Dover.


Established Professional ($6,000 award)
Name Community Artistic Discipline
Linda Blaskey Lincoln Literature: Poetry
Anne Colwell Milton Literature: Fiction
Scott Davidson Wilmington Jazz: Solo Performance
Anne Jenkins Milford Folk Art: Visual
Ramona Long Newark Literature: Creative Nonfiction
George Lorio Dover Visual Arts: Sculpture
Augustine Mercante Wilmington Music: Solo Recital
Aina Nergaard-Nammack Lewes Visual Arts: Painting
Karin Snoots Harbeson Visual Arts: Painting


Emerging Professional ($3,000 award)
Name Community Artistic Discipline
Alex Buckner Wilmington Choreography
Teresa Clifton Milford Literature: Fiction
Knicoma Frederick Wilmington Folk Art: Visual
Jerry Gordon Wilmington Visual Arts: Painting
Andre Jones Wilmington Literature: Playwriting
Michele McCann Newark Folk Art: Music
Marjorie Weber Lewes Literature: Creative Nonfiction
William Wolff Bear Visual Arts: Photography


Honorable Mentions
Name Community Artistic Discipline
Thomas Del Porte Wilmington Visual Arts: Painting
Dennis Lawson Newark Literature: Fiction
Georgia Leonhart Rehoboth Beach Literature: Creative Nonfiction
Robyn Phillips-Pendleton Newark Visual Arts: Painting
Russell Reece Bethel Literature: Fiction
Vanessa Simon Magnolia Visual Arts: Photography
Michele Xiques Milford Choreography

The next deadline for Individual Artist Fellowships applications is August 1, 2013.

The Delaware Division of the Arts is an agency of the State of Delaware. Together with its advisory body, the Delaware State Arts Council, the Division administers grants and programs that support artists and arts organizations, educate the public, increase awareness of the arts, and integrate the arts into all facets of Delaware life. Funding for Division programs is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware State Legislature, and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.

Related Topics:



State Agency Newsrooms
External Links

Flag Status


Adjust Your Font Size

Make Text Size Smaler Reset Text Size Make Text Size Bigger

State of Delaware Facebook Page State of Delaware Facebook Page
State of Delaware Twitter Page State of Delaware Twitter Page
State of Delaware Flickr Photos State of Delaware Flickr Photos
State of Delaware Youtube Page State of Delaware Youtube Page
State of Delaware RSS Feed State of Delaware RSS Feed