Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


‘Are You That Guy?’ Aggressive Driving Enforcement Set

Department of Safety and Homeland Security | News | Office of Highway Safety | Date Posted: Friday, October 19, 2012



Dover – The Office of Highway Safety has coordinated another wave of overtime Aggressive Driving enforcement and is set to conduct enforcement from October 23rd to November 3rd.  Law enforcement agencies participating in the enforcement include Delaware State Police in all three counties, along with the Georgetown, Milford, Newark, New Castle County, Seaford, and Wilmington police departments.  Currently in 2012, 32 of the 83 fatal crashes (39%) have been attributed to aggressive driving behaviors.

Police are being asked to focus on the top four aggressive driving violations in the State of Delaware with the primary focus on drivers who fail to grant the right of way to other drivers.  Failure to grant the right of way violations include drivers who turn left in front of another vehicle, pull out in front of other vehicles at stop signs and fail to merge safely.  It is also the primary contributing factor in aggressive driving related fatal and injury crashes.

Motorists can be charged with aggressive driving is when an officer observes a driver committing three or more traffic violations in a single incident such as speeding, failing to yield right of way, tailgating, making improper lane changes, running red lights or stop signs.   Drivers cited for aggressive driving will get 6 points on their licenses and fines between $100 and $300.   They are also required to pay an additional $100 and complete an 8 hour behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within 90 days after the conviction for aggressive driving. Failure to attend the course will result in suspension of the individuals driving privilege.

To learn more about aggressive driving and find out if you are ‘that guy’ take the quiz here www.AggressivedrivingDE.com. For more information on Respect The Sign campaign or any of the other OHS campaigns visit www.ohs.delaware.gov, find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ArriveAliveDE or follow us on Twitter @DEHighwaySafe.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

‘Are You That Guy?’ Aggressive Driving Enforcement Set

Department of Safety and Homeland Security | News | Office of Highway Safety | Date Posted: Friday, October 19, 2012



Dover – The Office of Highway Safety has coordinated another wave of overtime Aggressive Driving enforcement and is set to conduct enforcement from October 23rd to November 3rd.  Law enforcement agencies participating in the enforcement include Delaware State Police in all three counties, along with the Georgetown, Milford, Newark, New Castle County, Seaford, and Wilmington police departments.  Currently in 2012, 32 of the 83 fatal crashes (39%) have been attributed to aggressive driving behaviors.

Police are being asked to focus on the top four aggressive driving violations in the State of Delaware with the primary focus on drivers who fail to grant the right of way to other drivers.  Failure to grant the right of way violations include drivers who turn left in front of another vehicle, pull out in front of other vehicles at stop signs and fail to merge safely.  It is also the primary contributing factor in aggressive driving related fatal and injury crashes.

Motorists can be charged with aggressive driving is when an officer observes a driver committing three or more traffic violations in a single incident such as speeding, failing to yield right of way, tailgating, making improper lane changes, running red lights or stop signs.   Drivers cited for aggressive driving will get 6 points on their licenses and fines between $100 and $300.   They are also required to pay an additional $100 and complete an 8 hour behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within 90 days after the conviction for aggressive driving. Failure to attend the course will result in suspension of the individuals driving privilege.

To learn more about aggressive driving and find out if you are ‘that guy’ take the quiz here www.AggressivedrivingDE.com. For more information on Respect The Sign campaign or any of the other OHS campaigns visit www.ohs.delaware.gov, find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ArriveAliveDE or follow us on Twitter @DEHighwaySafe.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.