Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Dec. 9-15

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Monday, December 23, 2019


Picture of the DNREC Fish & Wildlife Police Shield

Reminder for the week: Hunting and fishing licenses and Conservation Access Passes help fund Delaware conservation and outdoor recreation facilities

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Dec. 9-15 made 1,360 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 16 citations. Officers responded to 43 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. A Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:
Wildlife Conservation: Hunting on a refuge (1), removing antlered deer parts prior to checking (1), possession of unlawfully taken antlered deer (1), failure to tag antlered deer (1), failure to check antlered deer within 24 hours (2), failure to check antlerless deer within 24 hours (1), and no License Exempt Number (LEN) (1).
Boating & Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (2).
Public Safety: Possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vessel (1) and possession of drug paraphernalia (2).
Other: Damaging state property – cutting plants (2) and operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (1).

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. The Public are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
Did you know that your purchase of fishing and hunting licenses and Conservation Access Passes helps fund fish and wildlife conservation and public outdoor recreation facilities? Revenue from fishing and hunting licenses supports statewide fish and wildlife surveys, management, and conservation, as well as habitat management and fishing and hunting access on state lands managed by the Division of Fish & Wildlife to include boat ramps and state wildlife areas. Conservation Access Pass revenues also help fund management and maintenance of state wildlife areas.

Delaware fishing and hunting licenses and Conservation Access Pass are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license or Conservation Access Pass online, visit Delaware licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing or hunting licenses and Conservation Access Passes, call 302-739-9918.

-End-

 

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Dec. 9-15

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Monday, December 23, 2019


Picture of the DNREC Fish & Wildlife Police Shield

Reminder for the week: Hunting and fishing licenses and Conservation Access Passes help fund Delaware conservation and outdoor recreation facilities

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Dec. 9-15 made 1,360 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 16 citations. Officers responded to 43 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. A Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:
Wildlife Conservation: Hunting on a refuge (1), removing antlered deer parts prior to checking (1), possession of unlawfully taken antlered deer (1), failure to tag antlered deer (1), failure to check antlered deer within 24 hours (2), failure to check antlerless deer within 24 hours (1), and no License Exempt Number (LEN) (1).
Boating & Boating Safety: Operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets (2).
Public Safety: Possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vessel (1) and possession of drug paraphernalia (2).
Other: Damaging state property – cutting plants (2) and operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (1).

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. The Public are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
Did you know that your purchase of fishing and hunting licenses and Conservation Access Passes helps fund fish and wildlife conservation and public outdoor recreation facilities? Revenue from fishing and hunting licenses supports statewide fish and wildlife surveys, management, and conservation, as well as habitat management and fishing and hunting access on state lands managed by the Division of Fish & Wildlife to include boat ramps and state wildlife areas. Conservation Access Pass revenues also help fund management and maintenance of state wildlife areas.

Delaware fishing and hunting licenses and Conservation Access Pass are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license or Conservation Access Pass online, visit Delaware licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing or hunting licenses and Conservation Access Passes, call 302-739-9918.

-End-

 

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.