Read the latest news on coronavirus in Delaware. More Info

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


Delaware’s Tax Season Officially Starts January 27

Department of Finance | Division of Revenue | Date Posted: Thursday, January 23, 2020


calculating taxes

Division of Revenue Director Jennifer R. Hudson has announced that Delaware will begin processing 2019 individual income tax returns on Monday, January 27, 2020. To expedite this process, citizens are encouraged to file their 2019 State of Delaware Personal Income Taxes online at de.gov/filetax or through their tax software provider.

The 2019 tax year filing deadline is Thursday, April 30, 2020. On average, refunds from electronically filed returns are issued within 2 weeks, while refunds from paper-filed returns average seven weeks or more. Last year, the average time to issue a refund for all tax filing methods combined was approximately 25 days.

If you still owe taxes from prior years, you may find yourself listed on Delaware’s Delinquent Taxpayers web page. To address outstanding balances, please contact the Division of Revenue’s Account Management Department at (302) 577-8785 and ask to speak to your account assignee. By legislative order, larger balances are targeted first for publication. Each quarter, the next 100 business taxpayers and 100 personal taxpayers who have balances over $1,000 are posted to this site.

Taxpayers should be aware that Delaware does not maintain reciprocity agreements with other states. As a result, anyone who is not a Delaware resident, but who has worked in Delaware, must file a Delaware tax return. Delaware Residents who work out-of-state are required to file returns with Delaware in addition to a return in the state where they worked. By law, Delaware employees should receive their W-2 employment forms by January 31, 2020 for any job worked during the 2019 calendar year. Those who haven’t received a W-2 by January 31st should contact their employer.

For filing information and more, please visit revenue.delaware.gov.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

Delaware’s Tax Season Officially Starts January 27

Department of Finance | Division of Revenue | Date Posted: Thursday, January 23, 2020


calculating taxes

Division of Revenue Director Jennifer R. Hudson has announced that Delaware will begin processing 2019 individual income tax returns on Monday, January 27, 2020. To expedite this process, citizens are encouraged to file their 2019 State of Delaware Personal Income Taxes online at de.gov/filetax or through their tax software provider.

The 2019 tax year filing deadline is Thursday, April 30, 2020. On average, refunds from electronically filed returns are issued within 2 weeks, while refunds from paper-filed returns average seven weeks or more. Last year, the average time to issue a refund for all tax filing methods combined was approximately 25 days.

If you still owe taxes from prior years, you may find yourself listed on Delaware’s Delinquent Taxpayers web page. To address outstanding balances, please contact the Division of Revenue’s Account Management Department at (302) 577-8785 and ask to speak to your account assignee. By legislative order, larger balances are targeted first for publication. Each quarter, the next 100 business taxpayers and 100 personal taxpayers who have balances over $1,000 are posted to this site.

Taxpayers should be aware that Delaware does not maintain reciprocity agreements with other states. As a result, anyone who is not a Delaware resident, but who has worked in Delaware, must file a Delaware tax return. Delaware Residents who work out-of-state are required to file returns with Delaware in addition to a return in the state where they worked. By law, Delaware employees should receive their W-2 employment forms by January 31, 2020 for any job worked during the 2019 calendar year. Those who haven’t received a W-2 by January 31st should contact their employer.

For filing information and more, please visit revenue.delaware.gov.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.