Read the latest news on coronavirus in Delaware. More Info

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


Governor Carney Announces Additional COVID-19 Restrictions to Confront Winter Surge

Governor John Carney | Office of the Governor | Date Posted: Thursday, December 10, 2020



Most establishments limited to 30 percent capacity; larger retail limited to 20 percent to reduce crowds; 10 p.m. curfew instituted at restaurants and bars; additional enforcement measures announced; Stay-at-Home advisory in effect December 14-January 11

WILMINGTON, Del. – Governor John Carney on Thursday signed the fourth revision to the omnibus emergency order, announcing additional restrictions to confront the winter surge of COVID-19 hospitalizations in Delaware. Additional restrictions include:

  • Businesses above 100,000 square feet are limited to 20 percent of stated fire capacity.
  • All other businesses, including most retail stores and all restaurants, are limited to 30 percent of stated fire capacity.
  • Retail below 5,000 square feet, all Houses of Worship, and funeral services are limited to 40 percent of stated fire capacity.
  • A 10 p.m. curfew will be imposed at Delaware restaurants and bars. **Restaurants can deliver past 10 p.m.
  • Exercise classes at gyms are limited to 10 people and individuals who are not part of the same household must remain at least 13 feet apart during classes.
  • Indoor gatherings at businesses or indoor spaces open to the public must be limited to the lesser of 30 percent of the venue’s stated fire capacity, or 10 people.

Click here to read Governor Carney’s modification.

Employees are excluded from business capacity restriction calculations.

All new restrictions will take effect at 8 a.m. on Monday, December 14. Governor Carney’s fourth revision also formally authorizes previously announced restrictions:

  • Stay-at-Home Advisory: Delawareans are strongly advised to stay at home and not to gather with anyone outside their household from December 14-January 11 to reduce the dangerous surge of COVID-19 cases and hospitalizations.
  • Universal mask mandate: Delawareans and visitors must wear masks anytime they are indoors with anyone outside of their household.

“These additional restrictions are intended to protect Delaware’s hospital capacity and protect lives this winter,” said Governor Carney. “Health care workers are on the job around the clock, caring for the sick. We all need to follow their lead and do our part to protect others. Don’t gather with anyone outside of your household. Any interaction is riskier when community spread is at current levels. Wear a mask whenever you’re around someone outside your household – even if they’re family or friends. Wash or sanitize your hands frequently. COVID-19 can cause serious illness and worse, especially for our most vulnerable friends, family members, and neighbors. Please take this seriously.”

Governor Carney and the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) also on Thursday announced a zero-tolerance enforcement policy for businesses during the Stay-at-Home advisory. A first violation of COVID-19 restrictions will result in an immediate civil fine. A second violation will result in closure, until the establishment submits a reopening plan approved by DPH.

Restaurants will remain at 30 percent capacity, but must have signage prominently displayed on the table stating that parties must be from the same household. Restaurants also must share messaging on masking compliance. Governor Carney’s fourth revision caps mall food courts at 20 percent of stated fire capacity, or 100 people, whichever is smaller.

Click here to read Governor Carney’s full omnibus order.

Governor Carney’s State of Emergency declaration carries the full force and effect of law. Delawareans and visitors also must follow local restrictions in place to limit community spread of COVID-19.

Anyone with a question about COVID-19, whether related to medical or social service needs, should call Delaware 2-1-1. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing can text their ZIP code to 898-211. Hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Friday; 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. 

Report a business for COVID-19 non-compliance using this form

The Division of Public Health will continue to update the public as more information becomes available. For the latest on Delaware’s response, go to de.gov/coronavirus.

 

###

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

Governor Carney Announces Additional COVID-19 Restrictions to Confront Winter Surge

Governor John Carney | Office of the Governor | Date Posted: Thursday, December 10, 2020



Most establishments limited to 30 percent capacity; larger retail limited to 20 percent to reduce crowds; 10 p.m. curfew instituted at restaurants and bars; additional enforcement measures announced; Stay-at-Home advisory in effect December 14-January 11

WILMINGTON, Del. – Governor John Carney on Thursday signed the fourth revision to the omnibus emergency order, announcing additional restrictions to confront the winter surge of COVID-19 hospitalizations in Delaware. Additional restrictions include:

  • Businesses above 100,000 square feet are limited to 20 percent of stated fire capacity.
  • All other businesses, including most retail stores and all restaurants, are limited to 30 percent of stated fire capacity.
  • Retail below 5,000 square feet, all Houses of Worship, and funeral services are limited to 40 percent of stated fire capacity.
  • A 10 p.m. curfew will be imposed at Delaware restaurants and bars. **Restaurants can deliver past 10 p.m.
  • Exercise classes at gyms are limited to 10 people and individuals who are not part of the same household must remain at least 13 feet apart during classes.
  • Indoor gatherings at businesses or indoor spaces open to the public must be limited to the lesser of 30 percent of the venue’s stated fire capacity, or 10 people.

Click here to read Governor Carney’s modification.

Employees are excluded from business capacity restriction calculations.

All new restrictions will take effect at 8 a.m. on Monday, December 14. Governor Carney’s fourth revision also formally authorizes previously announced restrictions:

  • Stay-at-Home Advisory: Delawareans are strongly advised to stay at home and not to gather with anyone outside their household from December 14-January 11 to reduce the dangerous surge of COVID-19 cases and hospitalizations.
  • Universal mask mandate: Delawareans and visitors must wear masks anytime they are indoors with anyone outside of their household.

“These additional restrictions are intended to protect Delaware’s hospital capacity and protect lives this winter,” said Governor Carney. “Health care workers are on the job around the clock, caring for the sick. We all need to follow their lead and do our part to protect others. Don’t gather with anyone outside of your household. Any interaction is riskier when community spread is at current levels. Wear a mask whenever you’re around someone outside your household – even if they’re family or friends. Wash or sanitize your hands frequently. COVID-19 can cause serious illness and worse, especially for our most vulnerable friends, family members, and neighbors. Please take this seriously.”

Governor Carney and the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) also on Thursday announced a zero-tolerance enforcement policy for businesses during the Stay-at-Home advisory. A first violation of COVID-19 restrictions will result in an immediate civil fine. A second violation will result in closure, until the establishment submits a reopening plan approved by DPH.

Restaurants will remain at 30 percent capacity, but must have signage prominently displayed on the table stating that parties must be from the same household. Restaurants also must share messaging on masking compliance. Governor Carney’s fourth revision caps mall food courts at 20 percent of stated fire capacity, or 100 people, whichever is smaller.

Click here to read Governor Carney’s full omnibus order.

Governor Carney’s State of Emergency declaration carries the full force and effect of law. Delawareans and visitors also must follow local restrictions in place to limit community spread of COVID-19.

Anyone with a question about COVID-19, whether related to medical or social service needs, should call Delaware 2-1-1. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing can text their ZIP code to 898-211. Hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Friday; 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. 

Report a business for COVID-19 non-compliance using this form

The Division of Public Health will continue to update the public as more information becomes available. For the latest on Delaware’s response, go to de.gov/coronavirus.

 

###

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.