Read the latest news on coronavirus in Delaware. More Info

Delaware News


Open Burning of Brush, Branches and Limbs Allowed Through April 30

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | News | Date Posted: Thursday, April 1, 2021


Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control Logo

Open Burning Ban – Also Known As Ozone Season – Runs May 1-Sept. 30

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control reminds residents that open burning of materials such as tree limbs, brush and branches is allowed until May 1 – when the state’s annual open burning ban takes effect through Sept. 30. But DNREC further reminds the public that it is against the law at all times to burn materials considered toxic or hazardous.

“We want to reinforce the environmental message that while residential open burning is allowed until the end of April, there are constraints on what can be burned, how much can be burned at a time, and at what time of day these materials can be burned,” said DNREC Division of Community Affairs Director Patrick Emory.

Residential open burning is allowed from Oct. 1 to April 30 for up to 27 cubic feet of cut or fallen limbs, dead branches, or shrubbery from your residence. Only up to this amount of yard waste may be burned at one time, and must be burned between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Burning trash or garbage, construction and other debris, old tires, grass clippings and leaves is illegal at all times in Delaware.

The annual open burning ban – May 1 through Sept. 30 and also known as the Ozone Season – prohibits all outdoors burning, with the exception of cooking fires, recreational campfires and ceremonial bonfires using firewood. These fires are permitted year-round. Citations issued by DNREC’s Environmental Crimes Unit for all other open burning during this time are punishable by fines of $500 to $1,500, plus court costs.

DNREC also offers the following open burning tips:

  • Pile materials you plan to burn as far as practical from all homes and other structures, including your neighbors’.
  • Be considerate of those around you in choosing when and where to burn.
  • Keep a garden hose or full water buckets ready in case you need to reduce or put out the fire.
  • Monitor your fire until it is completely extinguished.
  • Consider using one of Delaware’s yard waste sites as an alternative to residential open burning. Further information may be found at: https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/waste-hazardous/yard-waste/drop-off-sites/

More information can be found on the DNREC website.

About DNREC
The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control protects and manages the state’s natural resources, protects public health, provides outdoor recreational opportunities and educates Delawareans about the environment. For more information, visit the website and connect with @DelawareDNREC on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Media Contacts: Michael Globetti, michael.globetti@delaware.gov; Nikki Lavoie, nikki.lavoie@delaware.gov

###

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

Open Burning of Brush, Branches and Limbs Allowed Through April 30

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | News | Date Posted: Thursday, April 1, 2021


Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control Logo

Open Burning Ban – Also Known As Ozone Season – Runs May 1-Sept. 30

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control reminds residents that open burning of materials such as tree limbs, brush and branches is allowed until May 1 – when the state’s annual open burning ban takes effect through Sept. 30. But DNREC further reminds the public that it is against the law at all times to burn materials considered toxic or hazardous.

“We want to reinforce the environmental message that while residential open burning is allowed until the end of April, there are constraints on what can be burned, how much can be burned at a time, and at what time of day these materials can be burned,” said DNREC Division of Community Affairs Director Patrick Emory.

Residential open burning is allowed from Oct. 1 to April 30 for up to 27 cubic feet of cut or fallen limbs, dead branches, or shrubbery from your residence. Only up to this amount of yard waste may be burned at one time, and must be burned between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Burning trash or garbage, construction and other debris, old tires, grass clippings and leaves is illegal at all times in Delaware.

The annual open burning ban – May 1 through Sept. 30 and also known as the Ozone Season – prohibits all outdoors burning, with the exception of cooking fires, recreational campfires and ceremonial bonfires using firewood. These fires are permitted year-round. Citations issued by DNREC’s Environmental Crimes Unit for all other open burning during this time are punishable by fines of $500 to $1,500, plus court costs.

DNREC also offers the following open burning tips:

  • Pile materials you plan to burn as far as practical from all homes and other structures, including your neighbors’.
  • Be considerate of those around you in choosing when and where to burn.
  • Keep a garden hose or full water buckets ready in case you need to reduce or put out the fire.
  • Monitor your fire until it is completely extinguished.
  • Consider using one of Delaware’s yard waste sites as an alternative to residential open burning. Further information may be found at: https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/waste-hazardous/yard-waste/drop-off-sites/

More information can be found on the DNREC website.

About DNREC
The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control protects and manages the state’s natural resources, protects public health, provides outdoor recreational opportunities and educates Delawareans about the environment. For more information, visit the website and connect with @DelawareDNREC on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Media Contacts: Michael Globetti, michael.globetti@delaware.gov; Nikki Lavoie, nikki.lavoie@delaware.gov

###

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.