Thoroughbred Racing Commission leadership changes

Date Posted: Friday, September 7th, 2012
Categories:  Department of Agriculture News

Photos available for media use on Flickr

DOVER — Governor Jack Markell has appointed Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commissioner W. Duncan Patterson as new chairman and Commissioner Edward J. Stegemeier as new secretary of the commission.W. Duncan Patterson

Past Chairman Bernard J. Daney stepped down this summer after almost 20 years as head of the board which regulates thoroughbred and Arabian racing in Delaware, and will continue to serve as a commissioner, with the additional title of chairman emeritus. Daney served as chairman since August 1993.

Patterson thanked Daney for his long service to racing. “I am proud to call Bernard Daney a friend and colleague,” he said. “His work over the last two decades has helped make Delaware racing what it is today. I look forward to continuing his tradition of strong leadership on these important issues.”

Secretary of Agriculture Ed Kee praised Daney’s passion for racing and his commitment to fair play. “Bernard Daney is a national leader on issues of racing and equine endeavors,” said Kee. “His unparalleled service as chairman has helped make Delaware a racing leader. We are doubly lucky that he will continue to serve on the commission, and that Duncan Patterson has agreed to serve as chairman.”

Commission Executive Director John F. Wayne said Daney has taken a strong stance on equine health and other issues. “His leadership on matters affecting horses and advocacy for jockeys and horsemen has been central to the success and strength of Delaware’s racing industry,” Wayne said.

Daney said he looked forward to continuing to work on issues affecting the industry. “This is a time of great opportunity in racing, and I will work hard to make certain Delaware remains in a lead position,” he said.

Daney has been a member of the board of directors of the Association of Racing Commissioners International since 1997, and is a former ARCI chairman. He was involved in the early days of the National Racing Compact, implementing a national racing license system, and serves as secretary-treasurer of the Compact. Daney also served as a board member and treasurer of the Pennsylvania Horse Breeder’s Association for more than 20 years. He and his wife, Arlene, have been breeding and racing thoroughbreds for more than 30 years. All of their four sons have ties to horses and racing.

Patterson has been a commissioner since his appointment by Gov. Michael N. Castle in 1988. He also is a national leader in the industry, as he is next in line to head the Association of Racing Commissioners International. Patterson is a former thoroughbred trainer, amateur Steeplechase rider and former board member of the National Steeplechase Association.

The Thoroughbred Racing Commission is a five-member body appointed by the Governor. It enforces commission rules, regulations and Delaware law to eliminate fraudulent activity and preventing corrupt practices.

Photos available for media use on Flickr


Dan Shortridge
Chief of Community Relations
Delaware Department of Agriculture



State Agency Newsrooms

External Links

Flag Status


Adjust Your Font Size

Make Text Size Smaler Reset Text Size Make Text Size Bigger

State of Delaware Facebook Page State of Delaware Facebook Page
State of Delaware Twitter Page State of Delaware Twitter Page
State of Delaware Flickr Photos State of Delaware Flickr Photos
State of Delaware Youtube Page State of Delaware Youtube Page
State of Delaware RSS Feed State of Delaware RSS Feed