To follow current weather and road condition updates, view the related news.



Three Delaware schools receive national Blue Ribbon honors

Date Posted: Thursday, September 28th, 2017
Categories:  Department of Education News


Three Delaware schools are among 342 schools that U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recognized today as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2017. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.


East Millsboro Elementary School in the Indian River School District, Olive B. Loss Elementary School in the Appoquinimink School District, and Seaford Central Elementary School in the Seaford School District are among the schools that will be honored at an awards ceremony November 6 and 7 in Washington, D.C. The school leaders: Kelly Dorman (East Millsboro Elementary School), Lorraine Lybarger and Jenine Thomas (Olive B. Loss Elementary School), and Becky Neubert (Seaford Central Elementary School) will be invited to attend the national awards ceremony with a teacher representative from each of their schools.


The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap.


This coveted award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. Now in its 35th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,500 schools.


All schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates:

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years.


Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The Department invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE).


A listing of all National Blue Ribbon Schools in Delaware:


East Millsboro Elementary School – Millsboro – 2017

Olive B. Loss Elementary School – Bear – 2017

Seaford Central Elementary School- Seaford – 2017

Dover Air Force Base Middle SchoolDover – 2016

Newark Charter School Newark – 2016

Sussex AcademyGeorgetown – 2016

Cape Henlopen High SchoolLewes – 2015

Lake Forest East Elementary School Frederica – 2015

W. B. Simpson Elementary School Wyoming – 2015

The Academy of Dover Dover –  2014

John M. Clayton Elementary School Frankford – 2014

Lake Forest North Elementary School Felton – 2014

The Charter School of Wilmington Wilmington – 2013

Richard A. Shields Elementary School Lewes – 2013

Allen Frear Elementary School Dover – 2013

Linden Hill Elementary School Wilmington – 2012

Harry O. Eisenberg Elementary School New Castle – 2012

Star Hill Elementary School Dover  –  2012

West Park Place Elementary School Newark – 2011

Long Neck Elementary School Millsboro – 2011

Nellie Hughes Stokes Elementary School Dover – 2011

Christ the Teacher Catholic School Newark – 2010

Newark Charter School Newark – 2010

Robert S. Gallaher Elementary School – Newark – 2010

Woodbridge Elementary School – Greenwood – 2010

Marbrook Elementary School – Wilmington – 2009

East Millsboro Elementary School – Millsboro -2 008

Sussex Technical High School – Georgetown – 2008

Lancashire Elementary School – Wilmington – 2007

Etta J. Wilson Elementary School – Newark – 2007

Joseph M. McVey Elementary School – Newark – 2007

North Georgetown Elementary School – Georgetown – 2006

Lake Forest East Elementary School-Frederica – 2006

Fairview Elementary School – Dover – 2006

Long Neck Elementary School – Millsboro – 2005

Booker T. Washington Elementary School – Dover – 2005

Lulu M. Ross Elementary School – Milford – 2004

Frankford Elementary School – Frankford – 2004

Phillip C. Showell Elementary School – Selbyville – 2003

Corpus Christi Elementary School – Wilmington – 2001

Lord Baltimore Elementary School – Ocean View – 2001

Padua Academy – Wilmington – 1996

Seaford Middle School – Seaford – 1996

Sussex Technical High School – Georgetown – 1996

St. Matthew School – Wilmington – 1992

Corpus Christi School – Wilmington – 1990

Dover High School – Dover – 1987

Skyline Middle School – Wilmington – 1985

Christiana High School – Newark – 1984

Caesar Rodney Senior High School – Camden – 1984

Brandywine High School – Wilmington – 1983

Shue Middle School – Newark – 1983



State Agency Newsrooms

External Links

Flag Status


Adjust Your Font Size

Make Text Size Smaler Reset Text Size Make Text Size Bigger

State of Delaware Facebook Page State of Delaware Facebook Page
State of Delaware Twitter Page State of Delaware Twitter Page
State of Delaware Flickr Photos State of Delaware Flickr Photos
State of Delaware Youtube Page State of Delaware Youtube Page
State of Delaware RSS Feed State of Delaware RSS Feed