Read the latest news on coronavirus in Delaware. More Info

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Feb. 10-16

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, February 21, 2020


Picture of the DNREC Natural Resources Police Badge

Reminder for the week: River herring, striped bass, and spillway net fishing regulations


DOVER
– DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources, promote boating safety, and protect the public through outreach, education, and law enforcement. To help achieve public compliance with laws and regulations, officers from Feb. 10-16 made 1,508 public contacts and responded to 34 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Officers issued a total of five citations for the following listed violations related to:

Wildlife Conservation: No conservation access pass.

Public Safety: Possession of drug paraphernalia and using a cell phone while driving.

Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area*.

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. The public can report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or using the free smartphone DENRP Tip app downloaded from the Google Play Store or iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations can be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app; Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
With spring fishing season fast approaching, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind recreational anglers that it is unlawful in Delaware to harvest river herring. Signs giving notice of the fishery closure are posted at fishing spots known to hold river herring. Fines for illegal possession of river herring begin at $50 for a first offense and increase to $100-$500 for a second offense. For more information, click river herring.

Anglers are also reminded that during striped bass spawning season from April 1 through May 31, it is unlawful for any person to take and retain striped bass from the Nanticoke River or its tributaries, the Delaware River or its tributaries to the north of a line extending due east beginning at and including the south jetty at the mouth of the C&D Canal, or the C&D Canal or its tributaries. For more information, click striped bass.

Also, as fish begin entering spillways this spring, anglers are reminded that using any type of net to catch fish in tidal water within 300 feet below a dam or spillway is illegal, with the exception of using a landing net on a fish caught with hook and line.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

Contact: Sgt. Brooke Mitchell, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913, or 302-382-7167.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Feb. 10-16

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, February 21, 2020


Picture of the DNREC Natural Resources Police Badge

Reminder for the week: River herring, striped bass, and spillway net fishing regulations


DOVER
– DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources, promote boating safety, and protect the public through outreach, education, and law enforcement. To help achieve public compliance with laws and regulations, officers from Feb. 10-16 made 1,508 public contacts and responded to 34 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Officers issued a total of five citations for the following listed violations related to:

Wildlife Conservation: No conservation access pass.

Public Safety: Possession of drug paraphernalia and using a cell phone while driving.

Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area*.

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. The public can report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or using the free smartphone DENRP Tip app downloaded from the Google Play Store or iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations can be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app; Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.

Are you AWARE?
With spring fishing season fast approaching, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind recreational anglers that it is unlawful in Delaware to harvest river herring. Signs giving notice of the fishery closure are posted at fishing spots known to hold river herring. Fines for illegal possession of river herring begin at $50 for a first offense and increase to $100-$500 for a second offense. For more information, click river herring.

Anglers are also reminded that during striped bass spawning season from April 1 through May 31, it is unlawful for any person to take and retain striped bass from the Nanticoke River or its tributaries, the Delaware River or its tributaries to the north of a line extending due east beginning at and including the south jetty at the mouth of the C&D Canal, or the C&D Canal or its tributaries. For more information, click striped bass.

Also, as fish begin entering spillways this spring, anglers are reminded that using any type of net to catch fish in tidal water within 300 feet below a dam or spillway is illegal, with the exception of using a landing net on a fish caught with hook and line.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

Contact: Sgt. Brooke Mitchell, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police, 302-739-9913, or 302-382-7167.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , , , , , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.