Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


Delaware Personal Income Tax Season Begins January 29

Department of Labor | Division of Revenue | News | Date Posted: Monday, January 8, 2018



Division of Revenue Director Jennifer R. Hudson has announced that the Delaware individual income tax season will begin on Monday, January 29, 2018, concurrently with the opening of the federal individual tax season announced by the IRS. While this is slightly later than previous years, the January 29 date was set to ensure the security and readiness of key tax processing systems, and to assess the potential impact of tax legislation on 2017 tax returns. Delaware will begin issuing income tax refunds on Monday, February 19, 2018. The State of Delaware will begin to accept business tax returns on January 16, 2018.

Tax Form

Electronic filing remains the fastest and safest way to file your personal income tax returns. Delaware will continue to offer taxpayers the opportunity to file for free through the Division of Revenue website. Delaware’s user-friendly system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and allows taxpayers to file their returns and schedule payments to be made closer to the April 30, 2018 deadline. You may pay your State of Delaware taxes using a credit card, or by debiting your bank account.

If you prefer to use tax-preparation software, you can electronically file your federal and state income tax returns for a fee. Many of these products also offer free-filing options for Delaware taxpayers who meet one of the following qualifications:

  • Those with adjusted gross income that is less than the software’s established means criteria; or
  • Active-duty military with an adjusted gross income of $60,000 or less (including Reservists and National Guard); or
  • Those who qualify for the Federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC).

Returns filed in hard copy are processed using a modernized system that identifies tax filings based on the return type. Any taxpayer who files a 2017 tax return using a prior-year return, or who modifies the paper return in some way, could experience significant delays. Paper tax returns will be available at local libraries, Revenue’s three public service offices, or via download at de.gov/17taxforms.

Delaware individual income tax returns will be due on or before April 30, 2018. It is important to remember that anyone who has worked in Delaware must file a Delaware tax return, even if they are not a Delaware resident. Similarly, Delaware residents who work in another state are required to file returns with Delaware in addition to the state in which they worked.
By law, Delaware employees should receive their W-2 forms from their employers no later than January 31, 2018 for any job worked during the 2017 calendar year. If you have not received a W-2 by January 31, 2018 please contact your employer.

image_printPrint This Page

Recent Stories

Related Topics:  , , , , , ,


Delaware Personal Income Tax Season Begins January 29

Department of Labor | Division of Revenue | News | Date Posted: Monday, January 8, 2018



Division of Revenue Director Jennifer R. Hudson has announced that the Delaware individual income tax season will begin on Monday, January 29, 2018, concurrently with the opening of the federal individual tax season announced by the IRS. While this is slightly later than previous years, the January 29 date was set to ensure the security and readiness of key tax processing systems, and to assess the potential impact of tax legislation on 2017 tax returns. Delaware will begin issuing income tax refunds on Monday, February 19, 2018. The State of Delaware will begin to accept business tax returns on January 16, 2018.

Tax Form

Electronic filing remains the fastest and safest way to file your personal income tax returns. Delaware will continue to offer taxpayers the opportunity to file for free through the Division of Revenue website. Delaware’s user-friendly system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and allows taxpayers to file their returns and schedule payments to be made closer to the April 30, 2018 deadline. You may pay your State of Delaware taxes using a credit card, or by debiting your bank account.

If you prefer to use tax-preparation software, you can electronically file your federal and state income tax returns for a fee. Many of these products also offer free-filing options for Delaware taxpayers who meet one of the following qualifications:

  • Those with adjusted gross income that is less than the software’s established means criteria; or
  • Active-duty military with an adjusted gross income of $60,000 or less (including Reservists and National Guard); or
  • Those who qualify for the Federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC).

Returns filed in hard copy are processed using a modernized system that identifies tax filings based on the return type. Any taxpayer who files a 2017 tax return using a prior-year return, or who modifies the paper return in some way, could experience significant delays. Paper tax returns will be available at local libraries, Revenue’s three public service offices, or via download at de.gov/17taxforms.

Delaware individual income tax returns will be due on or before April 30, 2018. It is important to remember that anyone who has worked in Delaware must file a Delaware tax return, even if they are not a Delaware resident. Similarly, Delaware residents who work in another state are required to file returns with Delaware in addition to the state in which they worked.
By law, Delaware employees should receive their W-2 forms from their employers no later than January 31, 2018 for any job worked during the 2017 calendar year. If you have not received a W-2 by January 31, 2018 please contact your employer.

image_printPrint This Page

Recent Stories

Related Topics:  , , , , , ,