Read the latest news on coronavirus in Delaware. More Info

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: April 10-16

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, April 21, 2017


DNREC Logo

Reminder for the week: Boaters urged to check gear before putting vessels in the water

DOVER – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between April 10-16 made 1,036 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 67 vessel boardings for boating safety, hunting and fishing regulation compliance checks, issuing 10 citations. Officers responded to 31 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Incident of note:

  • On April 15, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers cited an individual for possession of over the limit wild turkey near Hartly. The individual was fined $342, including court costs and released.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Wildlife Conservation: Unlawful to purchase, sell, attempt to sell, transport antlerless deer or antlerless deer parts (1), and possession of over the limit wild turkey (1).

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Unlicensed fishing (3)*, trespass to fish (2), and improperly marked crab pot (1).

Boating and Boating Safety: No throwable life preserver aboard as required for vessels 16 feet long or longer (1).

Other: Excessive speed on a state wildlife area (1)*.

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

Are you AWARE?

With warm weather finally here, Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind boaters to make sure their vessel is ready for a trouble-free day enjoying Delaware’s waterways by performing a pre-departure check. Before hooking up your boat trailer, you should have:

  • All current required licenses and registrations, including fishing license(s), boat registration, boating safety certificate if the operator was born on or after Jan. DE F&W Natural Resources Police logo1, 1978 and, for vessels registered out-of-state launching at a Division of Fish & Wildlife tidal boat ramp, a boat ramp certificate;
  • Enough lifejackets for everyone on board, including children age 12 or younger who are required by Delaware law to wear them at all times while underway; for vessels 16 feet or more in length, an USCG approved throwable flotation device is also required;
  • Checked the local weather forecast;
  • Left a float plan with a responsible friend, family member or local marina, including a description of your boat, when you plan to head out, who is going with you, where you plan to go and when you plan to return;
  • Checked for working navigation lights, steering and throttle controls;
  • Checked oil, fuel and fluid levels;
  • Checked for fuel leaks, including hose clamps and connections;
  • Drained all water from the engine compartment or bilge, and replaced and secured the bilge plug;
  • A fully charged engine battery and fire extinguishers;
  • Emergency flares and a fully charged cell phone or marine radio; and
  • Plenty of water to stay hydrated and sunscreen to protect against sunburn, which can be severe on the water.

“Boaters are encouraged to remember the importance of lifejacket use,” said Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police. “Delaware law requires that all children 12 years old and younger aboard a vessel and all personal watercraft operators wear a lifejacket while underway”.

For more information on safe boating practices in Delaware, please visit Delaware Boating Safety, pick up a copy of the Handbook of Delaware Boating Laws and Responsibilities at the DNREC licensing desk, or visit Delaware’s Boating Regulations and Boating Laws.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: April 10-16

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, April 21, 2017


DNREC Logo

Reminder for the week: Boaters urged to check gear before putting vessels in the water

DOVER – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between April 10-16 made 1,036 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 67 vessel boardings for boating safety, hunting and fishing regulation compliance checks, issuing 10 citations. Officers responded to 31 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Incident of note:

  • On April 15, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers cited an individual for possession of over the limit wild turkey near Hartly. The individual was fined $342, including court costs and released.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Wildlife Conservation: Unlawful to purchase, sell, attempt to sell, transport antlerless deer or antlerless deer parts (1), and possession of over the limit wild turkey (1).

Fisheries Conservation: Recreational: Unlicensed fishing (3)*, trespass to fish (2), and improperly marked crab pot (1).

Boating and Boating Safety: No throwable life preserver aboard as required for vessels 16 feet long or longer (1).

Other: Excessive speed on a state wildlife area (1)*.

*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.

Are you AWARE?

With warm weather finally here, Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind boaters to make sure their vessel is ready for a trouble-free day enjoying Delaware’s waterways by performing a pre-departure check. Before hooking up your boat trailer, you should have:

  • All current required licenses and registrations, including fishing license(s), boat registration, boating safety certificate if the operator was born on or after Jan. DE F&W Natural Resources Police logo1, 1978 and, for vessels registered out-of-state launching at a Division of Fish & Wildlife tidal boat ramp, a boat ramp certificate;
  • Enough lifejackets for everyone on board, including children age 12 or younger who are required by Delaware law to wear them at all times while underway; for vessels 16 feet or more in length, an USCG approved throwable flotation device is also required;
  • Checked the local weather forecast;
  • Left a float plan with a responsible friend, family member or local marina, including a description of your boat, when you plan to head out, who is going with you, where you plan to go and when you plan to return;
  • Checked for working navigation lights, steering and throttle controls;
  • Checked oil, fuel and fluid levels;
  • Checked for fuel leaks, including hose clamps and connections;
  • Drained all water from the engine compartment or bilge, and replaced and secured the bilge plug;
  • A fully charged engine battery and fire extinguishers;
  • Emergency flares and a fully charged cell phone or marine radio; and
  • Plenty of water to stay hydrated and sunscreen to protect against sunburn, which can be severe on the water.

“Boaters are encouraged to remember the importance of lifejacket use,” said Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police. “Delaware law requires that all children 12 years old and younger aboard a vessel and all personal watercraft operators wear a lifejacket while underway”.

For more information on safe boating practices in Delaware, please visit Delaware Boating Safety, pick up a copy of the Handbook of Delaware Boating Laws and Responsibilities at the DNREC licensing desk, or visit Delaware’s Boating Regulations and Boating Laws.

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.