Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Jan. 8-14

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, January 19, 2018


DNREC Logo

Reminder for the week: Trapping has regulations and laws in Delaware

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Jan. 8-14 made 1,135 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters and the general public, issuing 60 citations. Officers responded to 41 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Incidents of note:

  • On Jan. 14, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested Seven Nye, 18, of Marydel, with five counts each of the following: failure to attach deer tag to antlerless deer; failure to retain tag on antlerless deer; failure to check antlerless deer within 24 hours; removing antlerless deer parts prior to checking; possess or transport antlerless deer that was unlawfully killed and one count of unlawful to use antlerless deer tag during invalid season following an investigation into illegal hunting during the 2017 season near Marydel. Nye was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7, where he plead guilty, was fined $535, including court costs and released.
  • On Jan. 12, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested an individual for multiple trapping and state wildlife area violations near Hartly. The following press release was issued in regards to the incident: Hartly-man-arrested-for-multiple-trapping-and-state-wildlife-area-violations.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Wildlife Conservation: Failure to attach deer tag to antlerless deer (5), failure to retain tag on antlerless deer (5), failure to check antlerless deer within 24 hours (5), removing antlerless deer parts prior to checking (5), possess or transport antlerless deer that was unlawfully killed (5), unlawful to use antlerless deer tag during invalid season (1), unlicensed hunting (1), illegal method of take (1), failure to attach and sign federal duck stamp (5), possession of an unlawful body-gripping trap (1), setting an illegal leg hold trap (1), unlawfully trapping on the Fish & Wildlife-owned Tappahanna Wildlife Area (1), setting improperly tagged traps (6), and hunting illegally on Sunday (1).

Public Safety: Possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle (1), possession of drug paraphernalia-marijuana related (3), possession of marijuana-civil (1), operating an unregistered motor vehicle (1), reckless driving (1), and malicious mischief with a motor vehicle (1).

Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (7), and operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (2).

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.

Are you AWARE?
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind trappers to review state regulations and laws governing trapping before doing so.

Trapping is prohibited in Delaware except by valid contract or permit holders. Trapping licenses are not available electronically from licensing agents or online. Licenses must be purchased through the Division of Fish & Wildlife. An approved Trapping Education Course is mandatory for all persons born on or after January 1, 1978.

Other Trapping regulations and laws include:

  • It is illegal to set foothold traps with toothed or serrated jaws.
  • Traps must be visited at least once every 24 hours.
  • It is illegal to use or possess killer or conibear traps with a jaw spread in excess of 5 inches.

For additional information on Delaware trapping licenses, call 302-739-9918 and visit the Hunter Education Courses website to sign up for a Mandatory Trapper Course.

For an overview of all the regulations and laws on trapping in Delaware, click on 2017 Delaware Hunting & Trapping Guide.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

print

Recent Stories


Related Topics:  , , , , ,


Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Blotter: Jan. 8-14

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control | Division of Fish and Wildlife | Date Posted: Friday, January 19, 2018


DNREC Logo

Reminder for the week: Trapping has regulations and laws in Delaware

DOVER – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Jan. 8-14 made 1,135 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters and the general public, issuing 60 citations. Officers responded to 41 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.

Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions

Incidents of note:

  • On Jan. 14, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested Seven Nye, 18, of Marydel, with five counts each of the following: failure to attach deer tag to antlerless deer; failure to retain tag on antlerless deer; failure to check antlerless deer within 24 hours; removing antlerless deer parts prior to checking; possess or transport antlerless deer that was unlawfully killed and one count of unlawful to use antlerless deer tag during invalid season following an investigation into illegal hunting during the 2017 season near Marydel. Nye was arraigned at Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7, where he plead guilty, was fined $535, including court costs and released.
  • On Jan. 12, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested an individual for multiple trapping and state wildlife area violations near Hartly. The following press release was issued in regards to the incident: Hartly-man-arrested-for-multiple-trapping-and-state-wildlife-area-violations.

Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:

Wildlife Conservation: Failure to attach deer tag to antlerless deer (5), failure to retain tag on antlerless deer (5), failure to check antlerless deer within 24 hours (5), removing antlerless deer parts prior to checking (5), possess or transport antlerless deer that was unlawfully killed (5), unlawful to use antlerless deer tag during invalid season (1), unlicensed hunting (1), illegal method of take (1), failure to attach and sign federal duck stamp (5), possession of an unlawful body-gripping trap (1), setting an illegal leg hold trap (1), unlawfully trapping on the Fish & Wildlife-owned Tappahanna Wildlife Area (1), setting improperly tagged traps (6), and hunting illegally on Sunday (1).

Public Safety: Possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle (1), possession of drug paraphernalia-marijuana related (3), possession of marijuana-civil (1), operating an unregistered motor vehicle (1), reckless driving (1), and malicious mischief with a motor vehicle (1).

Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (7), and operating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (2).

DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.

Are you AWARE?
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind trappers to review state regulations and laws governing trapping before doing so.

Trapping is prohibited in Delaware except by valid contract or permit holders. Trapping licenses are not available electronically from licensing agents or online. Licenses must be purchased through the Division of Fish & Wildlife. An approved Trapping Education Course is mandatory for all persons born on or after January 1, 1978.

Other Trapping regulations and laws include:

  • It is illegal to set foothold traps with toothed or serrated jaws.
  • Traps must be visited at least once every 24 hours.
  • It is illegal to use or possess killer or conibear traps with a jaw spread in excess of 5 inches.

For additional information on Delaware trapping licenses, call 302-739-9918 and visit the Hunter Education Courses website to sign up for a Mandatory Trapper Course.

For an overview of all the regulations and laws on trapping in Delaware, click on 2017 Delaware Hunting & Trapping Guide.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/DEFWNRPolice/.

Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.

print

Recent Stories


Related Topics:  , , , , ,