Read the latest news on coronavirus in Delaware. More Info

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware News


Governor Carney Restricts Gatherings, Requires Businesses to Strictly Comply with Social Distancing

Governor John Carney | Office of the Governor | Date Posted: Wednesday, April 1, 2020



WILMINGTON, Del. – Governor John Carney on Wednesday signed the ninth modification to his State of Emergency declaration, further limiting public gatherings and ordering essential businesses to take specific steps to enforce social distancing and fight the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID19).

Governor Carney’s modified emergency order limits public gatherings to 10 people through May 15, or until the public health threat has been eliminated. For the purposes of the order, public gatherings include weddings, funerals, and related activities.

The order also requires new action from businesses that remain open. Under Governor Carney’s modified emergency order, businesses must:

  • Allow no more than 20 percent of stated fire capacity in the store at any given time – and no more than 10 percent during exclusive hours for high-risk populations.
  • Clearly mark six-foot spacing in check-out lines and other high-traffic areas, including outside.
  • Discontinue any self-serve foods, or product sampling.
  • Designate staff to enforce the number of people coming into the store and enforce limits.

“We will take action to enforce these restrictions if Delawareans, visitors, and businesses don’t comply voluntarily,” said Governor Carney. “Our goal is to save lives. This is a serious situation and we need everyone to cooperate. Don’t go out in public unnecessarily. If you need to go out, stay away from others. Wash your hands and follow basic hygiene guidance. We’ll get through this, but it’s going to take all of us.”

Read the full text of Wednesday’s order.

Governor Carney’s order will take effect at 8:00 p.m. Thursday, April 2.

Governor Carney’s emergency declaration has the force and effect of law. Any failure to comply with the provisions contained in a Declaration of a State of Emergency or any modification to a Declaration of the State of Emergency constitutes a criminal offense.

Delawareans with general questions about COVID-19 or their exposure risk can call the Division of Public Health’s Coronavirus Call Center at 1-866-408-1899, or 711 for individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.

Questions can also be submitted by email at DPHCall@delaware.gov.  

DPH will continue to update the public as more information becomes available. For the latest on Delaware’s response, go to de.gov/coronavirus.  

 

###

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.

Governor Carney Restricts Gatherings, Requires Businesses to Strictly Comply with Social Distancing

Governor John Carney | Office of the Governor | Date Posted: Wednesday, April 1, 2020



WILMINGTON, Del. – Governor John Carney on Wednesday signed the ninth modification to his State of Emergency declaration, further limiting public gatherings and ordering essential businesses to take specific steps to enforce social distancing and fight the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID19).

Governor Carney’s modified emergency order limits public gatherings to 10 people through May 15, or until the public health threat has been eliminated. For the purposes of the order, public gatherings include weddings, funerals, and related activities.

The order also requires new action from businesses that remain open. Under Governor Carney’s modified emergency order, businesses must:

  • Allow no more than 20 percent of stated fire capacity in the store at any given time – and no more than 10 percent during exclusive hours for high-risk populations.
  • Clearly mark six-foot spacing in check-out lines and other high-traffic areas, including outside.
  • Discontinue any self-serve foods, or product sampling.
  • Designate staff to enforce the number of people coming into the store and enforce limits.

“We will take action to enforce these restrictions if Delawareans, visitors, and businesses don’t comply voluntarily,” said Governor Carney. “Our goal is to save lives. This is a serious situation and we need everyone to cooperate. Don’t go out in public unnecessarily. If you need to go out, stay away from others. Wash your hands and follow basic hygiene guidance. We’ll get through this, but it’s going to take all of us.”

Read the full text of Wednesday’s order.

Governor Carney’s order will take effect at 8:00 p.m. Thursday, April 2.

Governor Carney’s emergency declaration has the force and effect of law. Any failure to comply with the provisions contained in a Declaration of a State of Emergency or any modification to a Declaration of the State of Emergency constitutes a criminal offense.

Delawareans with general questions about COVID-19 or their exposure risk can call the Division of Public Health’s Coronavirus Call Center at 1-866-408-1899, or 711 for individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.

Questions can also be submitted by email at DPHCall@delaware.gov.  

DPH will continue to update the public as more information becomes available. For the latest on Delaware’s response, go to de.gov/coronavirus.  

 

###

image_printPrint

Related Topics:  , ,


Graphic that represents delaware news on a mobile phone

Keep up to date by receiving a daily digest email, around noon, of current news release posts from state agencies on news.delaware.gov.

Here you can subscribe to future news updates.