Reminder for the week: Upstate trout season opens April 1; streams closed two weeks prior
DOVER – To achieve public compliance through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between March 6-12 made 1,000 contacts with anglers, hunters, boaters and the general public, including 15 vessel boardings for boating safety, hunting and fishing regulation compliance checks, issuing 16 citations. Officers responded to 29 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. An increased Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and associated recreational trail.
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
Incident of note:
Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:
Public Safety: Discharge a firearm on or near public roadway (1), possession of marijuana (2)*, possession of drug paraphernalia (1), operating a motor vehicle without insurance (1), operating a motor vehicle without registration card in possession (1), and duty to sign and carry driver’s license (1).
Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (9).
*Includes citation(s) issued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area.
Are you AWARE?
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police remind anglers that Delaware’s upstate freshwater trout season opens at 7:30 a.m. Saturday, April 1, in six streams in New Castle County. The designated trout streams are closed to fishing for two weeks prior to the scheduled season opening, beginning Saturday, March 18.
The six designated trout streams are:
Downstate trout season remains open at Tidbury Pond near Dover and Newton Pond near Greenwood, both of which opened March 4.
A Delaware fishing license is required for most anglers fishing for trout. A resident annual fishing license, which covers fresh and tidal waters as well as crabbing and clamming, costs $8.50 for ages 16 through 64. Persons under the age of 16 and residents age 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware, although exempt persons may purchase fishing licenses and trout stamps if they so choose to help support fisheries management and trout stocking efforts. For non-resident anglers age 16 and older, an annual fishing license costs $20.
In addition to Delaware’s normal fishing license requirements, most trout anglers also must purchase a Delaware trout stamp to fish in a designated trout stream from the first Saturday in April through June 30 and from the first Saturday in October through November 30 unless exempted by law. A trout stamp is also required to fish Tidbury Pond in Kent County and Newton Pond in Sussex County from the first Saturday in March through April 1. For residents age 16 through 64, a trout stamp costs $4.20. For residents age 12 through 15, a young angler trout stamp costs $2.10. For non-residents, a trout stamp is required for all anglers age 12 and older and costs $6.20. Trout anglers younger than age 12 and resident anglers age 65 and older are not required to purchase a trout stamp.
Delaware fishing licenses and trout stamps are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit Delaware Licenses. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call 302-739-9918.
For more information on fishing in Delaware, click on 2017 Delaware Fishing Guide. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk, and from license agents throughout the state.
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting and boating laws and regulations. Citizens are encouraged to report fish, wildlife and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030 or online at http://de.gov/ogt.
Like Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Facebook, www.facebook.com/pages/Delaware-Fish-Wildlife-Natural-Resources-Police.
Follow Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police on Twitter, https://twitter.com/DE_FW_NRPolice.
Built by the Government Information Center