New Online Tool For Parents of New Teen Drivers
Dover – The Graduated Driver License (GDL) Parent Orientation Program (POP) is now available online at www.ohs.delaware.gov/OHSGDL/story.html for all parents and sponsors of new teen drivers in Delaware. This program is intended for parents and sponsors and explains why the GDL law was implemented in Delaware, gives them teaching and educational resources to help educate and teach their new drivers how to drive safely, and what responsibilities and liabilities the parent/sponsor assumes with a newly licensed driver.
Between 2004 and 2010 the POP program was presented after school at numerous high schools in Delaware by speakers from Delaware State Police, Bayhealth Trauma Service, Christiana Care Trauma Program, Office of Highway Safety, State Farm Insurance, and Delaware Division of Motor Vehicle. As the demand increased for more education and outreach to new drivers and resources to expand the program were dwindling, the OHS began the process to bring the program online and make it available to all parents/sponsors where they could view it anytime at their convenience.
It is not mandatory that parents/sponsors complete the POP program in order for their teens to get their driver’s license permit. It is a great source of information for parents/sponsors about what new drivers’ lack of experience when they are learning to drive and how the parent/sponsor can support and help them along the way to help them earn their full driving privileges.
The GDL law was implemented in Delaware in 1999 and was designed to give 16 year olds who are applying for their drivers’ license for the first time additional behind the wheel supervision beyond Drivers Education classes. The intent of the GDL law is to improve driving skills, instill a sense of responsibility, sharpen judgment, promote strict observance of the rules of the road and put an emphasis of parental/sponsor supervision and involvement in the teen’s driving education. After 10 years of GDL implementation16 year old teen driver crashes have reduced by 30% in Delaware.
For more information and resources for first time drivers and on the Graduated Driver License visit OHS website at www.ohs.delaware.gov and click on “Teen Driving” or visit www.teendriving.dmv.de.gov.